Using Automator

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by pilot1226, Mar 25, 2010.

  1. pilot1226 macrumors 6502a

    pilot1226

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    Hi,

    I've had my iBook G4 since mid-2005. I've always wondered what the point of automator is. I've never used it, just curious as to any typical users would use this for?
     
  2. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #2
    You use it to do repetitive tasks. For example I used to use it to rename batches of files in incremental fashion before I found Name Mangler. I've also used it to fix up track names in iTunes and to sync files on my webspace via Transmit's Automator plugins.

    It has a lot of shortcomings, but it's fairly easy to use and generally gets the job done. It can definitely save you a lot of time.
     
  3. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #3
    You know, this is why I haven't taken the time to delve into Automator or AppleScript. With tools like Name Mangler and Doug's AppleScripts for iTunes , I find that most repetitive tasks that I've encountered can easily be accomplished with a free app or script that I don't have to spend time creating.
     
  4. miles01110 macrumors Core

    miles01110

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2006
    Location:
    The Ivory Tower (I'm not coming down)
    #4
    Yeah. Basically the internet is awesome. I remember the dark ages when there was nothing even remotely useful on the internet as far as Mac utilities :-\
     
  5. bigjnyc macrumors 601

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #5
    I've used it a few times for very simple tasks. Like once to rename all my photos in a folder and put them in a sequence... it was like 3,000 pictures and I wanted them named in date sequence, it worked wonderfully for that.

    Recently I used it to create a folder where I can dump movies or any video files and have them converted to iphone format using quicktime. I just throw the video in there and automator does the rest. So its pretty handy sometimes.
     
  6. yoak macrumors 65816

    yoak

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #6
    I just used it for the first time.
    I shoot HD footage on Express cards (SxS) and I made a samll "app" that I can just drag the folder onto and it copies it to 2 different locations AND gives them new names with td´the date and time in descending order.

    I tried to have them converted to Quicktime as well, but the program I use for that has a pop up window asking a question every time it starts, so if the program already runs the workflow dosen´t work. Anyone would know a fix for this?
     

Share This Page