Using Boot Camp and Vmware Fusion at the same time

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by kaloer, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. kaloer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #1
    Hi!


    I have recently got my first mac, and unfortunately I do have to run Windows-only software at school.

    Is it possible to have a Boot Camp partion and a Vmware Fusion at the same time, so that I can run the "small" applications using Vmware Fusion and the applications with high system requirements using Boot Camp?


    Thank you in advance!

    //kaloer
     
  2. Queso macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #2
    Yes. Just make sure you install everything and set up the Windows Activation in the right order.

    This should give you the necessary information

    Link
     
  3. kaloer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #3
    Thank you very much for your answer!

    Is this the correct way of doing it:
    And if I do so, will Boot Camp and Vmware Fusion use the same partions?

    //kaloer
     
  4. kevink2 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    #4
    Fusion uses the boot camp version of Windows in this case.

    The only issue I've had, since I have 2 hard drives in my computer, is Fusion on some boots get confused about which hard drive it is on. There are 2 entries in my Library for Boot Camp, and if one doesn't work the other does.
     
  5. kaloer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    #5
    Thank you for the reply!

    I installed windows using Boot Camp and thereafter configured VMWare. It works great! Thank you for your replies!
     

Share This Page