Using Bootcamp in Parallels

Discussion in 'OS X El Capitan (10.11)' started by Apoxual, Jul 2, 2015.

  1. Apoxual macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2014
    #1
    I know that currently, the Bootcamp partition feature of Parallels is not working. I reached out to Parallels support and was told that El Capitan support was in the works.

    However, I was just wondering if anyone had gotten the bootcamp partition to work with Parallels? I have rootless disabled, however I don't have the option to create from my bootcamp partition.
     
  2. matov macrumors newbie

    matov

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Seville
    #2
    It doesn't work vmware fusion either.

    I had to install yosemite on a usb drive in order to use vmware fusion to install windows 10 on my bootcamp partition.
     
  3. bromr macrumors newbie

    bromr

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Location:
    Ankara, TR
    #3
    A new security feature called rootless was preventing Parallels from gaining access to Bootcamp partition.
    You can use this command to disable it and reboot.

    sudo nvram boot-args="kext-dev-mode=1 rootless=0"
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    Will it work after altering the rootless setting? Parallels is known to be very finicky with new versions of operating systems - they usually require the owner to upgrade to a new (as of yet unreleased) version of parallels.
     
  5. bromr macrumors newbie

    bromr

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Location:
    Ankara, TR
    #5
    Yes, it's working now. After this command Parallels Desktop find my Boot Camp partition.
     

Share This Page