Using Caps Lock as Command

Discussion in 'macOS' started by BiggAW, Jun 15, 2011.

1. BiggAW macrumors 68020

I usually use Caps Lock as Command, by changing the settings in System Preferences. It used to however, lose the setting with ever reboot or hardware charge (keyboard, mouse, etc). I now can't even get it to take the setting reliably for my external USB 'board, it often won't take it at all. How do I get it permanently use Caps Lock as Command? I don't mind an add-on peice of software, but DoubleCommand doesn't have this functionality.

I tried posting this over at the Apple Discussions, but without much luck there. Mods, feel free to move if you think it's better in peripherals, I figured Mac OSX, since I am concerned with the software side of things.

2. Mal macrumors 603

Mal

DoubleCommand does allow you to set that permanently.

[​IMG]

If that's not working for some reason, there might be a permissions issue. I've been using the settings above for about three years now, only had to set them again when I wiped my drive and reinstalled.

jW

3. BiggAW thread starter macrumors 68020

I tried DoubleCommand, deleting the plist file, and both, and nothing seems to work. At least I am now able to simply re-enable the functionality in System Preferences, but that is still a poor solution.

Ugh, this is so aggravating, the settings should keep. I would just take the caps lock key off my keyboard if it weren't for the fact that I now have found a good use for it, and I've gotten used to having an ergonomically correct command key.

4. BiggAW thread starter macrumors 68020

Now the situation is even worse- I was playing with DoubleCommand, and the keys are back to their factory assignment, with the alt key on the windows board acting as Command, so I effectively have no Command key.

5. BiggAW thread starter macrumors 68020