using carbon copy cloner on Tiger

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by austinsevo, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. austinsevo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks: California
    #1
    I recently bought a usb HD and have put my carbon copy images on it. But i need to roll back to an earlier time. And the mac isnt booting to the OS. How do i boot from usb and restore the image?
     
  2. wrldwzrd89 macrumors G5

    wrldwzrd89

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Location:
    Solon, OH
    #2
    Time Machine backups are NOT bootable. If you need to do a restore of a single file, enter Time Machine (by opening the Time Machine app in Applications), find the file to restore, and click Restore.

    If you need to do a full restore of your entire system, you must boot from the Leopard install DVD, install Leopard as normal, then, when the Setup Assistant comes up, choose Time Machine Backup as the source to copy your data files from, then select the files to restore, and let it do its thing.
     
  3. austinsevo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks: California
    #3
    oh sorry! i meant carbon copy cloner.. LOL! i do not know why i said time machine.. i need to boot from usb to restore a carbon copy cloner image..

    sorry
     
  4. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #4
    I see from your sig that you have an older PPC Mac. These can't boot using USB. Only Intel Macs can boot from USB drives.
     
  5. SnowLeopard2008 macrumors 604

    SnowLeopard2008

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2008
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    #5
    ^ I thought even the Intels could only boot from FireWire?
     
  6. austinsevo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks: California
    #6
    and if i did have an intel how would i boot from it? hold down the option key?
     
  7. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #7
    No. They can boot from USB. It's not officially supported, but I can testify from personal experience that it'll work.

    Yes.

    However, having gone out on a limb and said that PPC Macs don't boot from USB drives, I did a quick Google and found this, from TUAW in 2006 - http://www.tuaw.com/2006/10/25/boot-your-powerpc-mac-from-an-external-usb-drive/. Everyone commenting on that article seemed to know that PPC Macs were always bootable from USB drives. Of course, my excuse is that I'm relatively new to Macs, with the original Intel Core Duo iMac the first one I bought, and someone with a PPC Mac is going to have to confirm this.

    Perhaps your drive isn't formatted correctly? Does it use the GUID partition table or Apple Partition Map?
     
  8. austinsevo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks: California
    #8
    no no, i used a damaged CD caused some issues.. ill restore thank you.
     
  9. austinsevo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks: California
    #9
    using carbon copy cloner on Tiger

    Im about to do an upgrade from Tiger to Leopard but want to backup an image first just in case something goes wrong. But i noticed in disk utilities i cannot build a bootable USB drive.

    What do i do?
     
  10. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #10
    Is this related to your previous thread about booting from a USB drive?

    What do you mean about not being able to build a bootable USB drive in Disk Utility?
     
  11. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #11
    Suggest that you use Carbon Copy Cloner or SuperDuper to make a bootable clone of your HD onto your External HD.
     
  12. austinsevo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks: California
    #12
    yes sorry. my issue is that it appears i cannot make a bootible usb drive in Tiger to clone the image to if the install goes bad.. or am i wrong?
     
  13. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #13
    Yes, I understand that. I don't understand how you know you can't make a USB drive bootable. What is there in Disk Utility that makes you say this? Can you include a screen capture?
     
  14. austinsevo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks: California
    #14
    i have not looked in tiger but from the Leopard Partition tab it there are no options do make a GUID partition table for Tiger.
     
  15. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #15
    Is your Mac the one in your sig? If so, you don't use the GUID partition table. That's for Intel Macs. You want the Apple Partition Map.
     
  16. austinsevo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks: California
    #16
    no its a imac at work.. an intel.
     
  17. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #17
    Oh hold on here. We're going backwards and forwards, getting a little bit of information each time.

    You have a Mac, running Tiger and you want to make a CCC backup ... what Mac is this - iMac, MB, MBP, the one in your sig, the one at work ... which one? What's the exact model?

    Where does doing something from Leopard come in? What exactly are you trying to do? Why do you think you have to "make a GUID partition table for Tiger" from Leopard? If you want to format an external drive for an Intel drive, just partition it using GUID partition table ... it doesn't matter if you're using Leopard or Tiger, it's the same format. If you're formatting for a PPC Mac, use Apple Partition Map.
     
  18. austinsevo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks: California
    #18
    arg... okay

    I work with a company that needs some of their macs upgraded to Leopard.. 2 of these are Imac G5's running 10.4 which is tiger. They need to be upgraded to 10.5 which is Leopard.

    But before i reformat i want to make an image/clone of the 2 Imac G5's. So if the install goes bad they can be cloned back rather quickly without issue. But from what i have read is you "cannot" make a bootible partition on an external USB drive that works with Tiger.

    Or maybe i got misinformation. What do i need to do?

    my Mac at home has nothing to do with this thread.
     
  19. plinden macrumors 68040

    plinden

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2004
    #19
    Which is it? Are they Intels or G5s (ie. PPCs)? If they have Intel chips, you need to format using GUID, else you format with APM.

    Where did you read this?

    I still don't understand where "make a GUID partition table for Tiger from Leopard" comes in. If you're backing up Mac A, which is running Tiger, why don't you format the drive using the machine you're backing up?

    There should be no problem ... I have an external hard drive, USB, that I've partitioned into 2 GUID partitions. On one partition I clone my iMac. On the other I clone my wife's MacBook. Although they are now both running Leopard, I'm pretty sure I've been using the partitions since before I upgraded from Tiger.
     
  20. austinsevo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks: California
    #20
    they are Imac G5s [​IMG]

    they are running Tiger, and gonna be upgraded to Leopard. But i want to clone the HD first for safety reasons.
     
  21. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #21
    Carbon Copy Cloner (CCC) should be able to make a bootable clone on your external USB HD.

    Give it a try. CCC is a free download.

    After you clone the iMac G5 to the external USB HD, you can then try to boot from the external USB drive. If you can, then you are golden, and you can install Leopard on the iMac G5 HD.

    Be sure to use the Apple Partition Map for the external USB HD.
     
  22. sickmacdoc macrumors 68020

    sickmacdoc

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2008
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #22
    Carbon Copy Cloner will not make a bootable clone to a USB drive for a PPC Mac for future reference.:(

    I suspected as much since the old rule of thumb was that only FW drives (with Apple Partition Maps) were bootable by PPC machines, so rather than try to research it any more I just decided to try it.

    I used a G5 and formatted a spare USB drive as Mac OS Extended (Journaled) and set it up with an Apple Partition Map since we know that is required (and Disk Utility confirms) to boot a PPC Mac.

    HOWEVER- After selecting the internal boot drive of the G5 as the Source in CCC and selecting the freshly formatted USB/APM drive as the Target, CCC pops up the note that:
    I then selected a FireWire drive (with an Apple Partition Map as well) as the Target and CCC was happy to inform me that the Target volume would be bootable (as expected).

    For what is worth, I then rebooted and tried to install OSX directly to the USB drive previously formatted and the OSX installer would not even install on it- obviously because it would not be a bootable device on the G5. A blank FW drive hooked up at the same time had no problem being selected as an drive that OSX could be installed on.

    So there you go- tried and failed! ;)
     
  23. sushi Moderator emeritus

    sushi

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Location:
    キャンプスワ&#
    #23
    Appreciate the feedback.

    So it looks like the OP needs an external FW HD to do the clone concept.

    Thanks for your efforts.

    Somewhere in the back of my mind, I seem to remember a way to get around this. But for the life of me I forget. And after your results, it looks like I am out in left field. Bummer. :(

    Again, thanks for your efforts. :)
     
  24. austinsevo thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks: California
    #24
    okay thanks guys ill give it a shot.
     
  25. double0darbo macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2010
    #25
    http://www.tuaw.com/2006/10/25/boot-your-powerpc-mac-from-an-external-usb-drive/

    This link seems to say otherwise about booting from an external drive with USB.

    Also, I found that one can still clone their hard drive, but the booting seems to be the proverbial thorn.

    I have not tested either of these yet, but wanted to pass on more info. Plus, I think this post may be a bit outdated, as are PowerPCs.
     

Share This Page