Using CD drive for the first time. Need help!

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by LadyK8, Mar 24, 2011.

  1. LadyK8 macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #1
    I'm trying to put my Epson wireless printer on here, but it's not as easy as it is on a Windows based PC. Nothing popped up, and I clicked on Finder, clicked on the Epson disk icon, and nothing.
     
  2. hobbbz macrumors 6502a

    hobbbz

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    #2
    connect printer to computer

    Go to system Preferences > Print & Fax

    Click + to add printer

    go through that wizard

    Done.
     
  3. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
  4. squeakr macrumors 68000

    squeakr

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    #4
    I would try the Printer & Fax settings and see if it shows up and then proceed through that way. At least try it.
     
  5. macmikey2 macrumors regular

    macmikey2

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2008
    Location:
    West Chester, PA
    #5
    Are you installing for first time? If so, Epson drivers are already installed on most new Macs.

    Just go to System Preferences and click on Print & Fax.
    Then look on left side. Is the printer you want listed there? If yes, then it is installed already.

    If no, then you need more work.

    My recommendation - never install from the disk included in the box. Go to Epson's web site and download latest driver from there and install it.

    Then restart Mac. With printer on and connected, go back to System Preferences - Print & Fax and look again.

    Mike
     
  6. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #6
    Go to system Preferences > Print & Fax

    Click + to add printer

    Select IP

    Enter IP address of printer.
     
  7. /user/me macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #7
    You need to join it with a usb cord to your computer to install it first... Unless it has it's own ip address, (unlikely). if that's the case, you can just add it by ip address, but since you said it's wireless, and didn't mention if it was networked at all, I'll have to assume that it's not networked.
     
  8. LadyK8 thread starter macrumors member

    LadyK8

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    #8
    Okay. I had no clue about that. lol

    Thanks for all of the help! It worked!
     

Share This Page