Using current AT&T Plan with an iPhone

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by geekindisguise, Aug 9, 2009.

  1. geekindisguise macrumors 6502

    geekindisguise

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    #1
    Say that I bought an iPhone off of Craigslist or eBay and I don't want to update my plan for iPhone (Because I can't afford it! :D ) will it work?
    Right now I have an LG Vu with just regular Phone calling and Texting. Will the SIM Card out of my Vu work with the iPhone? I won't use the Internet or Apps that need internet unless I have WiFi.

    So, has anyone done this before?
    Thanks! :D
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    They will see the IMEI and gladly tack on the Data plan for you. :) You don't even need to ask for it. :p
     
  3. VSMacOne macrumors 601

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #3
    I don't think they can automatically pick up on it.. you would have to call it in.

    to the OP, I think you might run into trouble with texting and such, because iphone require a certain type of texting plan (i've just ported over from Verizon to AT&T about 100 lines for my business and I've had to deal with Cust Service a WHOLE lot).
    But you can give it a shot :D
    Just be careful with DATA, because it'll BURN if you end up using it without a data plan!
     
  4. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #4
    Nope... AT&T will detect a phone change almost instantly. ;)

    I can swap my SIM from my iPhone to my Blackberry and see the change to what type of phone I am using within a matter of minutes.
    Try it and then log into you account online. Pretty cool really.

    The billing will not change until you have used it for a little while.
     
  5. VSMacOne macrumors 601

    VSMacOne

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    #5
    Maybe it's different for business accounts because I remember calling in to swap out a phone and having to give them the IMEI ...
     
  6. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #6
    Wrong. They will not change the plan and they will not charge you extra. There is not a post on these forums where people were using an unapprived plan with an iPhone and had AT&T change their plan. They may send an SMS stating that you are using an unapproved plan and to call and have it changed, but they won't change it.

    I've been using a GoPhone sim in my 3G phone for months now and have never heard from nor seen any SMS warning me to change the plan to an iPhone plan.

    My 3G S phone is also running a 3G iPhone data plan and has been since the end of June.
     
  7. dalejrsfan macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    #7
    The iphone doesnt require a certain text plan. I have the AT&T unlimited family text plan, 2 iPhone and 1 non iPhone.
     
  8. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #8
    Many people here have reported AT&T changing their accounts for using the wrong plan with an iPhone.
    The SMS message about an unapproved plan is only a warning. AT&T WILL add it if you fail to respond in a timely manner.

    AT&T allows users to use GoPhone plans on iPhones that are no longer under contract or users that have crappy credit and can't qualify for a contract plan.

    The 3G and 3GS use the same plan, so why would AT&T change it?
     
  9. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #9
    There's no need to contact them unless you are changing billing info.
    AT&T can identify a device on any account by it's IMEI number.
    They know this as soon as you connect to a tower.
     
  10. Scooterman1 macrumors 6502a

    Scooterman1

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    #10
    On my AT&T account, I updated the IPCC file, set up the MMS settings, swapped SIM cards with another phone, sent a couple of txt msgs from that phone, and the model of phone updated on my account almost immediately.
    I then placed the iPhone SIM card back into the iPhone, and MMS was working. After a couple of messages though, the account updated with the Iphone (automatically sensed it), and MMS stopped working.
    So, bottom line, they can tell what phone you're using.
     
  11. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #11
    I meant that I am using a 2G data plan that includes 200 SMS with my 3G S iPhone and AT&T has not warned me.

    Also, everyone claims that AT&T has changed their acounts for using the wrong plan. Show some examples on this forum. I have never seen a single post fron anyone claiming this. Again show us some examples.
     
  12. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #12
    It's spelled out in AT&T's plan terms. Ya know, that contract you signed when you got service. ;)


    http://www.wireless.att.com/cell-phone-service/legal/plan-terms.jsp#iPhone

     
  13. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #13
  14. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #14
    Just a quick search found this one.
    http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost.php?p=6488999&postcount=25

    There are others, but I'll let you deal with the crappy search engine on this site.
     
  15. SpaceKitty macrumors 68040

    SpaceKitty

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2008
    Location:
    Fort Collins Colorado
    #15
    Again, that data plan the person spoke of was not automatically changed by AT&T. He does not say it was changed. IT sounds like he may have changed it himself because he was afraid to take the chance.
     
  16. chimerical macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    #16
    How is that different from someone who purchased an unlocked version (full price) in the past, and decides to use it on AT&T with just voice and no data plan? If a customer never entered an iPhone contract to begin with, none of the iPhone-specific terms apply. It's just like using a foreign or no-name phone of choice on AT&T, as long as the phone isn't under an iPhone contract.
     

Share This Page