Using "enter" key sends messages in Messages app

Discussion in 'iOS 9' started by Pagemakers, Jun 9, 2015.

  1. Pagemakers macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #1
    Apparently the enter key now sends the message in the messages app.

    How do you now create a line break in your iMessage or has that feature been taken away from us?
     
  2. bbfc macrumors 68030

    bbfc

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Location:
    Newcastle, England.
    #2
    Pressing return gives me a new line.
     
  3. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
    #3
    Hmmm. The first topic on this forum must be wrong then. You are using the iOS 9 beta?
     

    Attached Files:

  4. penajmz macrumors 68030

    penajmz

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Location:
    New York City
    #4
    I heard this mentioned but it gives me a break too when I press return, it doesn't send.
     
  5. Pagemakers thread starter macrumors 68000

    Pagemakers

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Location:
    Manchester UK
  6. Antoni Nygaard macrumors 6502a

    Antoni Nygaard

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Location:
    Denmark
    #6
    it gives a line break on my iPhone 6 as well with iOS 9
     
  7. GreyOS macrumors 68030

    GreyOS

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2012
    #7
    there's a chance that person meant you can send using enter on a physical keyboard. however even in this case you'd still hope adding a new line and sending the message were both available - perhaps it's shift+enter for one of them?

    the reason it might be this is because iOS 9 has introduced better support for physical keyboards, and not being able to send a message with a physical keyboard has always been a problem in previous versions i believe.
     
  8. OJCDEV macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    #8
    iOS 9 does not have an enter key in the messages app. Just a return key. The key functions as normal by creating another line.
     

Share This Page