Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

maf2k8

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jul 14, 2009
Ok so i am a guitar player and i have been using Garageband for a few months now recording some tracks and songs.

I usually have been downloading backing tracks off the net ( bass and drums ) and dropping them into Garageband and just adding the guitar tracks. It works and is fun but i want to start recording my own song ideas.

I am not looking to add any crazy style bass playing or drums, just basic stuff to give me something to work and play to. I started messing around with adding a software track, and just recently found out how to play/add drums, bass etc.

Its really basic, but it works for me and its great for starters. I prefer using my keyboard to play the instruments rather then programming a piece of software, plus trying to learn half the software out there is not something i am looking forward to. ( i hardly even know what midi is ) .. I came from using a old 4 track recorder and a drum machine you use sticks to play.

Anyways, with that said. I have been doing some reading and if i understand correctly i can use a Midi controller? or Midi device that would allow me to trigger or play the drums and bass in Garageband? pretty much a device that works just like my regular mac keyboard i am using, but something with a bit more bigger keys? or something more made for playing software instruments with?

Not sure exactly what i need, i am guessing and saying a midi keyboard? do i just plug that in to my iMac and all the keyboard keys will each have its own drum sound, correct? i also read that i could connect a Rockback drum controller to the mac and use that to play drums within garageband.

Just curious if someone could help me out with what i need to get and any advice and what not.