iPhone Using Gevey to Unlock without the White Sim

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by ohsoasian, Sep 20, 2012.

  1. ohsoasian macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    #1
    It's been a while since I unlocked my iPhone with a Gevey. I am overseas now, but I forgot to bring that white sim that was provided with the Gevey sim.

    Is there any way I can still use the Gevey to unlock a new sim since I am overseas? Or will I need to get another one of those white sims?
     
  2. ohsoasian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
  3. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #3
    Probably not without the white reset sim

    Why not spend a few dollars for an IMEI unlock from grey market dealer.
     
  4. ohsoasian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    #4
    A few dollars? Don't those cost upwards of $100?
     
  5. Minhimalism macrumors 65816

    Minhimalism

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    They're $10 all over ebay now
     
  6. LandonDonovan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #6
    The white reset SIM is only needed if you switch phones or if you don't have a Verizon iPhone 4S.
     
  7. ohsoasian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    #7
    I have a Verizon 4S, and the only one I can find on ebay is $140. :eek: Am I searching for the wrong thing?

    What do you mean by switch phones? I have the sim from my home country in my Verizon 4S right now, and it's in roaming mode I think. Can I just get another sim while I'm overseas, put it in, and it will work just like that?
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    An unlock for a CDMA phone only unlocks the sim slot for International sims as far as I know.
     
  9. ohsoasian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    #9
    So if I used the white reset sim once, and got the gevey sim working, does that mean I won't have to use the white reset sim again, even if I had to switch sim cards?

    Yeah, that's what I read as well.
     
  10. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #10
    Read the Applenberry website.
    As I read it, the white reset sim can be required when switching carriers
     
  11. xentelworker macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    #11
    I own a GEVY SIM Ultra S myself and the white SIM is to only program to the original carrier. Once that has been programmed, you can switch through as many SIM as you like.

    So in your case, it sounds like you already have done that given you told GEVEY SIM that your original carrier is Verizon.

    Once that is done, you can switch between all your other carriers without needed the white sim.

    The only time you would need the white sim again is if you we're to switch phones.

    Regards,

    xentelworker
     
  12. ohsoasian thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    #12
    Thanks so much! :D
     
  13. LandonDonovan macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    #13
    I never thought it would happen, but the Gevey SIM CDMA will not take on the 12th iPhone 4S 5.1.1 that I've tried to unlock. I'm officially quitting after 7 hours. I lost about a full day of work thanks to this iPhone. I'll just take the $100 loss. It's just in a repeated Searching...Gevey Accept...No Service...Searching...Gevey Accept...Activation Required...Gevey Accept...No Service loop. I would just restore it to 5.1.1 if I had shsh, but I just bought the iPhone a few days ago.

    My humble opinion is that the GSM antenna is damaged as this is my 3rd Gevey SIM on this iPhone 4S. I'm just gonna restore it to 6.0 and sell it to a Verizon customer.
     

Share This Page