Using Handbrake om Mp4 with srt subtitles (help!)

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by henrikrox, Oct 18, 2010.

  1. henrikrox macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #1
    So

    Most of the movies i use the program iflicks which i bought. Thats awesome btw, should look it up. It Encodes everything and you can add srt to the movies, then they get forced in, also it adds metadata from themoviedb or the tvdb. So the Movies will look like something you bought on the itunes store.

    Pretty great.


    Enough sidetracking, with mp4 files, iflicks wont notice the srt file when encoding, and when using handbrake, and using the force subtitle option, i get a black box down on the video where the subtitle is. I mean, the box goes over the entire movie width on the bottom. Its grey/black, you can see trough it, and still see the movie, but its preety dark, so it still bothers me, anyone know why this happens.

    I want the subtitle forced in, without the box.
     
  2. BlackMangoTree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #2
    iFlicks has no subtitle support.

    Handbrake supports SRT as soft subs you can't burn them in.

    Yes all of Apple's device display subtitles like you are seeing with the translucent black bar. It make the subs clearer to read. I like it.
     
  3. F-six macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2008
    Location:
    Netherlands
    #3
    I use Submerge to burn subtitles in a movie, that works fine.
     
  4. henrikrox thread starter macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #4
    Sorry, but you are wrong dude.

    iflicks supports subtitles, if they are named exactly like the movie, i have done it on 80 of my movies already ;)
     
  5. BlackMangoTree macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2010
    #5
    I just tried it with a MKV with srt subs and nothing. i don't see any options anywhere either for subs.


    Mkvtoools can burn the subs, you can even change the size and style of the font.
     
  6. henrikrox thread starter macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #6
    I just found isubtitle, its great, you can add soft subtitles and apple tv recoginzes, hell it even works on the ipad.

    Now i can have 2-3 different languages which is great, since i like to change between norwegian and american subtitles, worked with all files i have trown at it thus far.

    you just hold the middle button the remote for 2 seconds, then you can pick subtitles
     
  7. henrikrox thread starter macrumors 65816

    henrikrox

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    #7
    iflicks only works with avi/divx etc with subtitles, not mp4/mkv's.
     
  8. macforumsguest macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    #8
  9. DJTaurus macrumors 65816

    DJTaurus

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    #9
    Is there a way to avoid the subtitles grey box in the background?

    In the latest version of handbrake i cannot choose forced only when adding subs to an Avi.....
     

Share This Page