Using high performance does not release 256MB

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ayeying, Mar 1, 2009.

  1. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #1
    I noticed that even if I'm using the 9600GT video card, the 256MB shared ram for the 9400M is still in use.

    Is this suppose to happen? I thought the 9400M would release the 256MB of ram or at least reduce to something not 256MB.

    I only have 4GB and I'm constantly above 3.3GB of Wired/Active memory along with 2GB - 4GB of paging. That little 256MB would help a lot in not making me lagging under some conditions.
     
  2. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    I have issues where I have 1GB free and it still pages and keeps thrashing.
     
  4. ayeying thread starter macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #4
    Under "High Performance" mode, in the activity manager, if all the ram is added up, it comes to ~3.73GB which is the same if I'm in "Better Battery"
     
  5. Quu macrumors 68020

    Quu

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2007
    #5
    That sucks. I've hit 100% usage of my 4GB of memory a few times when I have lots of Photoshop windows open while using Aperture or other design apps. It would be nice to get every last MB out of what's there.

    I can't wait for DDR3 4GB sticks to drop in price I'll definitely upgrade to 8GB.
     
  6. Moriarty macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    #6
    Tried rebooting? (make sure the 9600M is on before restart)
     
  7. J the Ninja macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    #7
  8. ayeying thread starter macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #8
    Okay. According to the PDF provided by "J the Ninja", it appears that the 256MB will not be released regardless if I'm in "Boost" mode (according to nVidia) or if I'm in the Power Saving mode. Which kinda sucks imo because Windows Vista gives me all 4GB.
     

Share This Page