Using iMac as external display

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by yusukeaoki, Jan 2, 2012.

  1. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #1
    Hi guys.

    Quick question, can I use my iMac as an external display for my MBP?
    I have a old iMac G5 (ambient model) lying around.
    G5 processor? Too slow for me now.
    So I wanted to give it a better use rather than letting it dust in the corner.

    First question. Is it possible?
    The model I want to use is the iMac G5 Ambient light sensor model (2GHz).
    I tried using screenrecycler but it lags extremely (I mean there is no cable so)

    I dont want to spend a grand for a Cinema Display.
    I dont want to pay extra 100 for a monitor.
    I want to use this old Mac I dont even use.

    So again, is it possible? I heard couple cable conversions but there was no details so...
    The iMac is equipped with minidisplay port.

    Thanks! and Happy New Year!
     
  2. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
  3. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #3
    I do not think this is possible, only the "new style" iMacs have something called Target Display Mode, which allows it to essentially be used as a monitor like you wanted.
     
  4. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #5
    I wouldn't try to watch any videos or do anything short of a word document or browsing the internet (no YouTube, or the like) on that secondary screen with this.
     
  5. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #6
    as I already stated, its horrible.
    No wire meaning its really laggy.
    And trial ends in 20 min.
    I can even scroll correctly with that thing.

    ----------

    "New Model" meaning the aluminum model?
     
  6. AdrianK macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2011
    #7
    It's possible, but you need to fashion some kind of LVDS to DVI lead, apparently.
     
  7. yusukeaoki thread starter macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #8
    ohh... I see whats going on there.
    But the problem is, I still want to use my iMac as an computer.
    I dont want to take it apart.
    In this case, these people's iMac were dead.

    I was thinking more of cable conversions through the minidisplay port but I guess it cant be done.
     
  8. dontwalkhand macrumors 601

    dontwalkhand

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    #9
    Best to give that old thing to someone who does not currently have a computer, I am pretty sure you will make their day...especially having it be a Mac and all.
     

Share This Page