using iMac in portrait mode - Facetime now sideways :)

Discussion in 'iMac' started by unfrostedpoptar, Oct 22, 2012.

  1. unfrostedpoptar macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #1
    Hi all.

    I just remounted my 27" iMac (and external monitors) in portrait mode and really like it so far since most of the documents I edit are more vertical. However, I just went to have a FaceTime conversation and it doesn't know the iMac is sideways so the picture of me is now sideways. I guess it doesn't correctly read the Display settings in Preferences for monitor orientation.

    How do I fix this? I did a few google searches but didn't find anything.

    Thanks,

    David
     
  2. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #2
    You can't fix it because such an option doesn't exist.
     
  3. mosiejczuk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Location:
    Warszawa, Poland
    #3
    That's a shame, really. Such options do exist under Windows.
     
  4. unfrostedpoptar thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #4

    Joy. Another stupid omission on Apple's part. I'll add it to my large list of very simple things they haven't enabled that give me headaches... Just to add insult to injury, they make a big deal on their site about how the iPhone automatically rotates the camera when you turn the phone.
     
  5. forty2j macrumors 68030

    forty2j

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Location:
    NJ
    #5
    With all due respect, rotating the iPhone doesn't involve a custom mounting solution.

    Your complaint is akin to adjusting the drive train so a car drives sideways, and noticing that you can't rotate the seat.
     
  6. unfrostedpoptar thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #6
    I don't agree since Apple put in a menu option to allow me to rotate the screen orientation in Preferences. I didn't use any 3rd-party software or patches which would be closer to your analogy.

    Luckily, it's not a big deal for me since I almost never use this and can just use my MBA when I need to.
     
  7. ChristianJapan, Oct 22, 2012
    Last edited: Oct 22, 2012

    ChristianJapan macrumors 601

    ChristianJapan

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Location:
    日本
    #7
    A bit OT: do you see any difference in internal temperatures ? I would assume that the air flow within iMac is not designed for portrait mode. Wonder if that's impacts.

    I understand your desire on portrait mode; I have an external EIZO I can rotate and really like this for coding or browsing.
     
  8. Ryan.Tanner macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    #8
    I like it when someone complains that an option is available that would only be used by less than 0.25% of the adoption base.
     
  9. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #9
    go all DIY and get in there and rotate the camera or get an external camera and use it. I still use the Xbox 360 camera if I ever need anything different than the straight on camera.
     
  10. mikeytrend macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #10
    I'm not sure how frequently this comes up, so they honestly might not have thought about it. You could always report it as a bug and see if they get back to you or use your MBA.

    If this is something you really want, it looks like http://www.ecamm.com/mac/iglasses/instructions.html would solve your issue for $19.95
     
  11. marzer macrumors 65816

    marzer

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Location:
    Colorado
    #11
    Where is that option? I don't see on my iMac.
     
  12. unfrostedpoptar thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #13
    Yep. When I want high quality, I hook up my old MiniDV camcorder to the Mac via Firewire which blows away just about any webcam. I was just trying to do it the easy way...
     
  13. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #14
    The key difference is that in addition to rotating the screen, it sounds like you've also rotated the camera (which as you've noticed, there is no option for).
     
  14. unfrostedpoptar thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    #15
    OK - my last comments on this.

    1) Yes, I rotated the camera. It's an iMac - no choice!
    2) My point was that his analogy was flawed since it implied that I changed the computer in a way no approved of by Apple. This is not the case since they
    a) provide a (albeit hidden) setting to rotate the screen orientation
    b) sell the VESA adapter kit for the iMac, which I bought and used to mount the iMac on an Ergotron arm - which they also sell on store.apple.com
     
  15. peeaanuut macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Location:
    Southern California
    #16
    you do have to concider the optics of the camera as well. The aspect ratio is not the same if you rotate it, so your image if they did rotate the image via software, would be out of whack in comparison to others. Its why you get those videos where people video with the iPhone straight up. Looks horrible. If they did provide the option to rotate the camera via software, they would either have to 1, cut the image size to create the proper ratio or 2, leave it as a turned image ratio. Both options would create a bigger issue of people complaining that apple didnt think about the design and all the usual mumbo jumbo about features they dont use.

    You are honestly the only person I have ever heard bring up this issue.
     

Share This Page