using iphone on AT&T network with old SIM and discounts

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by heartlessdevil, Mar 12, 2008.

  1. heartlessdevil macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #1
    I know that there are so many posts on this issue but some questions are not resolved. I bought a 8GB iphone last week and I lost all my previous discounts(abt $15 per month = comes out to a savings of $360 for 2 years) when I activated it thru iTunes. My old SIM was deactivated on my old phone. I talked to AT&T customer service about getting my discounts back. It seems I can take the iphone SIM and put it my old phone and call up AT&T and give them my old IMEI number. Then I can return the iphone to Apple.
    However, I am thinking of keeping the iphone and upgrade to a Data plan with discounts and continue to use my iphone on AT&T. And that way I can avail of the discounts associated with it. I have 1.1.4 firmware on my iphone and I have jailbroken it using ziphone 2.5c. I tested my iphone using other SIMs both AT&T and T-Mobile and I am able to make phone calls.
    Now questions:
    1. Will AT&T know that I am using the iphone even though I am using my SIM activated for old phone?
    2. What are the consequences if they know?? [my roomie quipped that ppl don't reply from jails :p]
    3. Will I see visual voicemail and can I still use all the data features with an AT&T Data plan on the unlocked iphone?

    Do lemme know asap as I have only a very small time window to do all this.
    Thanks for all replies in advance..
    HD
     
  2. bbplayer5 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    #2
    I wouldnt try it if I were you. The fact that you have to come here and ask should be your warning.
     
  3. jeffmc macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    #3
    visual voice mail will absolutely not work, and yes they will know.

    consequences probably are little to none
     
  4. hobo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #4
    I don't have discounts and I don't have a data plan, so I'm not really sure about anything involving those.

    But YES AT&T will absolutely know you have an iPhone. They can ping your IMEI at any time the SIM is in and the phone is on (I think, if not at least when it connects to a tower), and they will receive the info unless you change the IMEI (which is shady and still questionable at this point).

    If you get a data plan, they might treat it differently. I currently take out my SIM anytime I call AT&T just so there aren't any issues. I called once and the first question was "Do you have an iPhone?" I hung up, since I was scared of the consequences, if any. Oh, once your phone shows up as an iPhone to AT&T, you need to call them to make any changes on the rate plans, instead of doing it online. I tried to add an unlimited texting family plan, and I couldn't without calling them, and who knows what they would have said to me! I added it to a different line.

    Bottom line is: do what you're comfortable with. You'll probably need to unlock 1.1.4 or at least downgrade the modem firmware since the newest version doesn't work with old AT&T SIM cards. I unlocked to use my existing SIM. When the pwnage system comes out, there should be an option to not upgrade the modem firmware, and then you can just downgrade it once and not worry about it after you upgrade....

    The bigger the risk, the bigger the reward!
     
  5. trido macrumors newbie

    trido

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2008
    #5
    Yes they can tell

    I did this sat. I ulocked iphone and put sons sim in from blackjack phone
    Several hours later checking my att account online WOA was me his blackjack phone now showed new IPHONE with a note saying I must call 800 ATT to make any feature changes.

    I got scared and unlocked Iphone activated it true Itunes and but iphone on my ATT account.
    Myabe I rushed this maybe ATT never would have said anything to many maybees so I went the right way.

    To all all you have to do setup your att wireless acount online it will show what phoen you are using on each of your lines and for me it is right on has every phone listed right again this might take 24 hours to show up after you swap phones with your sim.

    Trido
    Also I too haev discounts you must be sure and I have to call Monday that the Iphone you add is NOT the primary number if it is you lose all discounts.
    I have iphone on a secondary number under my family plan however I want to be very very sure ATT doesnt change that around.
     
  6. hobo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    #6
    my iPhone is on the primary number on my family plan. No issues so far (I've had it for six months and four days).

    When I wanted to change plans, I just made the change using another line (adding unlimited messaging). However, if I wanted to change my individual line, no telling what I might have to do.... or what will happen when my contract is up!

    By the way, where are you from? Your profile says USA, but you don't express yourself as if that's the case, no offense. I have trouble reading some of your sentences.
     
  7. bigaug macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    #7
    I'm using my old ATT sim in my new iphone as well. I just added the unlimited data before I switched the sims. I really don't see there being any real consequences to this, especially if your not under contract.
     
  8. scmacdaddy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Location:
    LA
    #8
    so your old sim works with visual voicemail and data just fine? and you get 200 texts with unlimited data?
     
  9. heartlessdevil thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Location:
    USA
    #9
    As far as I know, after a lot of experimentation, Visual voicemail does not work with your old SIM on your unlocked iphone.

    Even though I unlocked my iphone, the procedure to reactivate the old SIM is harrowing. And now that I am outside the 30 day period, I cannot do so.
    However my friend uses his old SIM with his iphone and does not have visual voicemail. He has also disabled his EDGE features by calling up AT&T. At this time, he has not checked his account to see whether his phone shows up as iphone or his previous instrument.

    Cheers,
    HD
     
  10. tsice19 macrumors 6502a

    tsice19

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    #10
    So you shouldn't use an old ATT Sim card in a new iPhone? Could they take legal action?
     

Share This Page