Using Jaadu with VNC viewer to connect remotely on a Laptop

Discussion in 'iOS Apps' started by randypipewarmer, Oct 1, 2008.

  1. randypipewarmer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    #1
    Has anyone here found and used Jaadu connect.
    If they have then is there a way I can use the facility to remotely connect with my laptop also.
    It is a great app and I have no trouble getting remote access to my desktop on the iphone. I have since installed VNC viewer onto my laptop but don't know how do to get it to connect. The Jaadu program seems to be able to cope with my router, IP addresses etc.

    Also if anyone is an expert and can help, is it possible to remote access two separate machines at home, i.e. My Desktop XP machine and My iMac??

    Thanks
     
  2. iblastoff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #2
    um you need vnc SERVER on the laptop in order to connect to it. not the VIEWER.
     
  3. mindovermedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #3
    By local access checked on vnc everything runs ok. By remote access i cannot access my computer (outside my house) as i get the error check if you are connecting to the right network or something like that. I have port forwarded the application and in my home network works like a treat. Why? Can someone configure this??
     
  4. iblastoff macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    #4
    are you actually trying to connect to the external remote ip and not the internal lan ip?
     
  5. mindovermedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #5
    what do you mean? i open jaadu on my iphone, i see the server and i double click on it to connect
     
  6. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #6
    There are two ways to connect to your computer...WiFi (home network) and Edge (outside of home). If you go to the Jaadu Website and follow the "Complete" set up walk through then you will be good to go and all will work.

    I believe that you are trying to connect using your WiFi setup and you are out of range.

    Start here: http://www.jugaari.com/setup.php its very easy and step by step. If you have problems, the guys will respond to your email's almost instantly to get you up and running.

    Good Luck
     
  7. mindovermedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #7
    I have done everything i read on the site but with gprs i see the "light blue server" instead of the "deep blue" at home and when i click i get you are not to the correct network connection.What settings do i need for 3g/gprs?:(
     
  8. SFC Archer macrumors 68000

    SFC Archer

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Location:
    Troy, MT
    #8
    Have you gone into your router and granted access to that port? Remember that if you grant access to the port from NO-IP then you also open a tunnel to intruders unless you have your router settings set to only allow specific computer ip's.

    Also you can send those guys an email describing your situation, they will help you easier then anyone else.
     
  9. mindovermedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #9
    Of course i have forwarded the specific port on my computer and tight vnc with jaadu are running flawlessly with "sharing on" on my computer remotely. The question is what more do i have to do to have remote access with 3g other than clicking on the light blue server on the iphone. Anyway thanks for the help. I hope somebody clear this out for me..
     
  10. welchgregusa macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #10
    I just purchased Jaadu VNC for the iPhone, and am trying Jaadu Connect on my Apple MacBook Pro.

    I believe that it should work over 3G, *if* Jaadu VNC can find the laptop. At least mine does---it worked several times today (several remote machines in fact). But I was using port forwarding on my home router, directly to the laptop.

    So probably if the laptop is still in the same place where it was working before (on a lan), it should be OK.

    What I am unsure about (and have just them email about) is whether/how it will continue to work as I change physical laptop locations (and hence network connections/types). I understand that Jaadu Connect needs to be running all the time (per their instructions). But what I don't know is whether it is smart enough to know, for example, that it has moved from behind a router (my home) to a fixed IP address (my work). If I have to quit Jaadu Connect and re-start it each time I move, that would be an untenable situation. I am hoping it functions like DNSUpdate (for example) and can tell when the network connection has changed, and tells the Jaadu server. We'll see!

    On a related note, I wish the location service part of Jaadu Connect ran in the background under OS X like (for example) DNSUpdate. I don't love having yet another foreground app running all the time just to find my laptop. (I have it in my login items, and set to hide, but still....)
     
  11. jaseone macrumors 65816

    jaseone

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Location:
    Houston, USA
    #11
    I think all JaduConnect does is setup the port forwarding on your router and makes the external IP available over the WiFi connection, if you already have DNSUpdate though why not just point to your dyndns.org address and map the ports on each of the routers?
     
  12. mindovermedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #12
    Please explain the simple steps after setting up jaadu to connect via gprs without getting the "not on the right network'' error
     
  13. mindovermedia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2008
    #13
    Ok so i just answer to myself and maybe to others after self-searching and nobody's answer:
    For connecting from external or 3g network, after following the online instructions step by step you have to add a new server on iphone for example "remote access" and set the password you set on vnc server on computer and as address the address you see on jaadu connect when everything runs ok and sharing is indicated as "on" on computer.
    Something important also is to set the correct port which you can also see on jaadu connect.I am saying this because personally after i did the port forwarding of port 5900, the program insisted that the sharing was on 5903.
     

Share This Page