Using latest iMac as Target display

Discussion in 'iMac' started by ramblindrunkard, Jun 15, 2017.

  1. ramblindrunkard macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2017
    #1
    Is there a workaround for using my newly bought 4.2Ghz i7 iMac as a a target display for my TV set top box (Sky Q if you're UK based) with an HDMI output. I bought the USB-C adapter naively assuming that would work but apparently not.

    I believe you used to be able to do this with a Kanex XD adaptor but i'm not sure if you can do this with the new one.

    Does anyone know of a work around?
     
  2. gthompson20 macrumors member

    gthompson20

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    #2
    There is no Target Display Mode on the new iMacs... has been that way since they went 5K.. see here --> https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT204592
     
  3. CWallace, Jun 15, 2017
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2017

    CWallace macrumors 603

    CWallace

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2007
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    #3
    AppleInsider has also confirmed no TDM - http://appleinsider.com/articles/17...ort-target-display-mode-despite-thunderbolt-3

    This is a clear sign that Apple is still using the custom timing controller chip they developed for the original iMac 4K and iMac 5K to allow it to run the display at 60Hz. It works, so why change it?

    To make TDM work with TB3 would require Apple to re-engineer that timing controller and TDM would then only work with other Macs that have TB3. I am sure it was deemed not worth the effort since so few people probably did it when it was available years ago.
     

Share This Page