Using Logic Pro and recording on the rMBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by PhaserFuzz, Jun 18, 2012.

1. PhaserFuzz macrumors 6502

Has anyone tried out Logic Pro on a Macbook Pro with Retina yet? Has Apple optimized it yet for the Retina display? Also how well does the system work with a recording interface? I'd imagine it has more than enough power to handle pretty much anything recording wise. Thanks for any help!

2. Code001 macrumors member

I'm a big Logic Pro user, and my new rMBP arrives on Wednesday. If nobody else chimes in by then, I'll go ahead and bump this thread with information. :cool: I can tell you that the computer itself should have no issues handling any of the current devices on the market. I actually have a new Apogee Duet 2 on order since the Apogee Duet no longer works with the machine, and I had a feeling that the Thunderbolt -> Firewire adapter wouldn't pull enough juice to properly phantom power the device.

3. UPO macrumors newbie

I'd be interested in finding out how logic looks on this too...

I dont use logic right now but I've been waiting on the new MBs to come out and Logic 10 as well to switch over... lol...

how likely do you think it is that we'll Logic 10 by the end of the year...

4. Code001 macrumors member

It's hard to say when Logic 10 will come out, honestly. There's a chance that it'll be out this year, but at the same time, it may be pushed back thanks to Apple's acquisition of Redmatica. The one thing about those of us who spend a lot of time working in DAWs is that we're generally not too quick to upgrade for fear that our current plugins and other audio devices may not work with the new software. I'm far from an expert in the field, though. I just hope it doesn't turn out like the FCPX fiasco did...

5. TheRdungeon macrumors 6502