Using Mac in South Korea

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by jveitz, Jun 19, 2014.

  1. jveitz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2014
    #1
    My daughter is going to teach in South Korea. She heard that there are problems using Safari and that they are mostly set up to use Internet Explorer there. Does anyone know if that is true? Want to buy a new laptop and prefer Mac.
     
  2. richwoodrocket macrumors 68020

    richwoodrocket

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Hamburg, NY
    #2
    Internet is internet. Use whatever browser you want. What she heard is impossible.
     
  3. mkeech macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    #3
    Using Mac in South Korea

    I've been there a number of times and never noticed a problem using Safari. If your daughter will be in Seoul, there is an Apple-authorized retailer in the COEX (a big mall) in Gangnam if she needs any mac-related stuff while there.
     
  4. 960design macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Location:
    Destin, FL
    #4
    I lived in Seoul for two years and had no problems with my Mac or Safari. The internets don't care which lens you use to view them.
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    rich wrote above:
    [[ Internet is internet. Use whatever browser you want. What she heard is impossible. ]]

    Not in South Korea. I haven't actually been to SK, but I do recall reading about the problem with Macs there from reliable sources.

    Some sites there (banking and financial, I believe) are set up so that it's impossible to connect and do business with a Mac. This is because the sites are constructed using Windows-only code (I think it's called "Active X") that works only with MS Internet Explorer. This may actually be pursuant to law in SK...

    As for the "general internet", I don't think there will be a problem.

    But for the sites that don't work, she'll need some way of running Internet Explorer. Might be able to do it with "CrossOver" without installing Windows. Otherwise, a virtual machine such as VMWare Fusion might do.

    Again, I'm writing this based on what I've read elsewere, and could be completely wrong.
    I welcome correction from those with actual experience.
     
  6. azxplorer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2015
    #6
    Korean Internet

    I'm presently living in Busan, South Korea.

    The requirement to use IE, is definitely for banking and financial websites. My bank Kookmin, required me to use IE, and get a "certificate" that allows me access to online banking. Other than banking my wife and I use our Mac's and Safari for everything else.

    I run Windoze 8.1 under parallels.
     
  7. Neo Utopia macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    #7
    --- Post Merged, May 14, 2017 ---
    Yes this is correct. Just before my wife began setting up digital certificates for credit card internet shopping, images on the bank's website were jumping all over the screen. So she just did bank transfers for payment.
     

Share This Page