Using Mac Keyboard on Windows (or do I need to keyboards)

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by funkytwig, Sep 12, 2012.

  1. funkytwig macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #1
    Hi, I have established that using a Windows keyboard on Mac is not a goer so I am using a Mac Keyboard (I am running dual boot). Is there a way of telling windows I am using a Mac layout or do I need to have two keyboards?

    Ben
     
  2. VTECaddict macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    #2
    it works the same. the command key will just work as the windows key
     
  3. G51989 macrumors 68030

    G51989

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    Location:
    NYC NY/Pittsburgh PA
    #3
    yep, the apple keyboard is like any other usb keyboard
     
  4. RightMACatU macrumors 65816

    RightMACatU

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2012
    Location:
    192.168.1.1
    #4
    ...and with VMWare Fusion, you can customize the Apple KB and it works great.
     
  5. adder7712 macrumors 68000

    adder7712

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    The Command key corresponds to the Windows key.

    That's it, other than that, they work identically regardless of OS.
     
  6. funkytwig thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    #6
    not quite true. There are several keys that od not work and some that are reversed (i.e. @ and "). Part of this is because the Mac keyboard has additional keys (i.e. \ is an additional key).

    It kind of works but when using applications on windows that have a lot of keyboard shortcuts (i.e. Premiere) its a real pain the the arse;).

    Ben
     
  7. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #7
    What language keyboard are you using? this is not true with the US English keyboard.

    You can fix this in windows however by re-mapping the keys in windows.
    http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows-vista/map-any-key-to-any-key-on-windows-xp-vista/
     
  8. APlotdevice macrumors 68040

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #8
    On the extended keyboard the clear key corresponds to num-lock.
     
  9. charlieegan3 macrumors 68020

    charlieegan3

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    U.K
    #9
    you can use sharpkeys to remap any keys you want too.
     
  10. stuffradio macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    #10
    I use my Windows keyboard on my mac with a KVM. I just switch thinking of shortcuts when I switch to the Mac. It is not much of a pain.
     
  11. nickjf20 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    #11
    Just google around a bit and you can install a modified version of BootCamp that only includes the keyboard drivers ... The build in my a sig is a PC, running windows only, using an apple keyboard

    All the OSX style volume changing and eject animations work ... and all the keys are properly mapped
     

Share This Page