Using Mac Mini as new hardware for old Macbook?

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by deatrier, Mar 6, 2015.

  1. deatrier macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    #1
    Hi,

    I was thinking, I have a 2007 Macbook (with osx lion 10.7.5), the Ram is maxed out (3/4gb) and it doesn't allow for any more os updates or "heavy" programs like video editing or 3d construction.

    Anyhow, is it possible to connect a new mac mini and run it through my old macbook? Having it connected like an external hard drive or whatever but being able to use the screen, keyboard, mousepad, speakers, in/outputs, running on the os and power of the mini?

    Thanks
     
  2. UserName macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
  3. deatrier thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2015
    #3
    Is it like you can either use the macbook as a remote keyboard/keypad if the mac mini is hooked up to some other screen or you can hook it up to the macbook screen but without being able to use the keyboard/keypad, and thats what you get?

    thanks for replying:)
     
  4. paulrbeers macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #4
    You can't directly hook the mini up to your Macbook and use the screen and keyboard and mouse. It just doesn't work like that.

    However, you COULD use Screen Sharing or another competing product if both the macbook and the mac Mini were on the same network. However, there is a lot of inherent lag and quality issues doing this. It won't give you what you ultimately want (which is to just use the screen, keyboard and trackpad from your macbook pro on the Mini as if they were one in the same machine).

    You are better off selling the macbook and either buying a Mini, Monitor, keyboard, and mouse or just buying a new macbook.
     
  5. Fishrrman macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #5
    Time for a new computer, mate.
    Eight years of usage is plenty long enough.

    That doesn't mean you throw the old one out.
    Keep it around for light-duty tasks, etc.

    I have a late-2006 "white" Intel iMac that is still quite useful...
     
  6. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #6
    I use VNC to run tasks on a Mac Mini that would take too long or would be inconvenient on my MBA. Works fine as long as you have a display dongle on the Mini to prevent black screening.

    However, I already had the Mini so I didn't look at it from an economic perspective.
     
  7. flyinmac macrumors 68030

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #7
    I agree with the post on VNC. There are free VNC programs, and it works great.

    I use VNC over my network, and I've had it setup to allow macs to control pc's and for pc's to control macs.

    There's an old mini PPC that I still need the stuff that's on it periodically, so it sits next to another machine without a screen or keyboard, and I run it remotely when I need software that's on it.

    There's no lag. And visually it's just like sitting in front of the machine that you're controlling remotely.

    I've even played games on it over the network. It's fine.

    VNC is a great alternative.
     
  8. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #8

    VNC does have lag and to say otherwise is ludicrous.
     
  9. drsox macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #9
    Mine works fine.
     
  10. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #10

    Works fine is not the same as not having lag. I never said that VNC didn't work or wasn't a good solution. I just said that VNC does have lag.
     
  11. flyinmac macrumors 68030

    flyinmac

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Location:
    United States
    #11
    Maybe your network isn't fast enough. Or perhaps your particular VNC client is less efficient. My kids play all kinds of action games over it and everything runs smooth. Never have any trouble here.

    I do recall one VNC client that caused slow screen draws. But when I saw that, I discarded it and went with a different client.

    If you have an efficient network, and protocols are properly set, you shouldn't have any trouble.

    My kids have even used VNC to play 2 player games together using separate screens and computers. And it was smooth. If there's lag in it, then it's so small that it's theoretical.

    There's several VNC clients out there. Experiment until you find one you like.
     

Share This Page