Using MacBook Air in clamshell mode

Discussion in 'MacBook Air' started by L T, Jan 19, 2014.

  1. L T macrumors 6502

    L T

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    So I would like to use my MacBook Air in clamshell mode with my 23inch monitor.

    However, when I close the lid down on my MacBook the signal drops to the monitor. When I click my mouse the screen comes back up, but only for 30 seconds before it then goes and I can't get it back.

    Are there any settings that I need to do on the MacBook to get it to allow signal to go to the monitor whilst it is closed?

    Thanks
     
  2. yosemit macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    #2
    I've been using MBA in clamshell mode for about four years. It is always easy and reliable to use. I use bluetooth mouse and keyboard.

    Some suggestions: 1) Check the magsafe connection. If it's loose, MBA may not wake up in the default setting. 2) Check the connection from the mini-DisplayPort to the monitor.
     
  3. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #3
    LT, my experience is that the MacBook needs to be on AC power for clamshell mode to work. Are you trying to do it on battery power?

    Here are Apple's instructions: http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3131
     
  4. L T thread starter macrumors 6502

    L T

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    Thank you!
    Didn't realise it had to be plugged in!! Will have to get an external keyboard now!
     
  5. chabig macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2002
    #5
    I think it requires more power to drive an external display, and that's why it must be plugged in.
     
  6. L T thread starter macrumors 6502

    L T

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Location:
    UK
    #6
    Thanks, can't believe the only times I have tried it before have happened to be whilst on battery power!
     

Share This Page