Using Macbook Pro 2011 and Vidock

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by RedRed99, Nov 15, 2011.

1. RedRed99 macrumors newbie

Hi,

I'm a noob when it comes to this so excuse my lack of knowledge, but i'm looking to increase my Macbook Pro's (see specs below) graphical capability with the addition of of a Vidock and a higher end graphics card (the geforce gtx 560 for instance), under Windows 7 in bootcamp, as the 256mb Raedon 6940m my Macbook currently boasts has turned out to be a bit of a disappointment with games such as Battlefield 3 when running at anything higher than low settings- I overclocked it using rivatuner and although it gave me a very good increase in performance, it's still relatively poor.

I know that current Vidocks connect via an ExpressCard port but my machine doesn't have one. It seems my options would be either to wait until a Vidock is released that can connect directly via thunderbolt port (i believe VillageTronic are in the process of manufacturing one), or to buy a vidock and then a separate ExpressCard to Thunderbolt adaptor ( http://www.sonnettech.com/product/echoexpresscard34thunderbolt.html ), and then of course the thunderbolt cable from Apple. Then this would all be plugged into an external display.

However, i'm not certain if this would work. Firstly, i'm unsure of the compatibility of this setup when it comes to using it with a Macbook Pro running windows 7, and secondly, whether or not connecting via thunderbolt, most likely through the Expresscard adaptor, would limit in any significant way the graphics cards overall performance.

In short, i want to know if it would actually work, as right now it seems like the only option short of building a gaming pc or buying an xbox.

If anyone far more knowledgeable than myself can enlighten me on this, it would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance for any responses.

-----------------------------------

Early 2011 15.4" Macbook Pro 8,2
    2.0 GHZ intel i7
    4GB ram