Using Macbook Pro as a Wireless Router

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by r.volek, Dec 31, 2010.

  1. r.volek macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    #1
    Hello.
    I just purchased my new macbook pro and I wanted to know if it was possible to use the laptop as a router so that my PS3 could connect through it. I followed the steps someone else mentioned:

    (1) Open System Preferences on your MacBook Pro, and open "Sharing"

    (2) On the left column, click Internet Sharing and check the box

    (3) Use the drop-down menu to select Ethernet in "Share your connection from..."

    (4) Check the box next to Airport in the section "To computers using..."

    (5) Close System Preferences and open the Airport menu from your Toolbar (top)

    (6) Click "Create Network", add a name to your Computer-to-Computer network

    (7) Leave the Channel as Automatic, add a password if you require (make sure your PS3 is compatible with your chosen level of security), click Ok.

    (8) Connect an ethernet cable between your broadband modem and MacBook Pro

    (9) Turn on your PS3 and perform your usual setup when connecting to a wireless network

    I have an Ipod, and it did detect the new connection that was setup; however, my PS3 and my Windows Mobile phone did not detect it. Is there a reason for this? Do only Apple devices identify this connection?
     
  2. snaky69 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    #2
    It should work, thing is the MBP isn't too powerful a router, you have to be fairly close to it.
     
  3. nick9191 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    Location:
    Britain
    #3
    It should work if you turn off WPA (ie. no password). Not secure I know, but it's the only way I could connect another Windows laptop. My BlackBerry connects to it fine with the password however.
     
  4. r.volek thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    #4
    That's weird, I just tried doing that but still, only my Ipod recognizes the new connection. My phone and PS3 are not detecting it.
     
  5. robvas macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    USA
    #5
    I've tried that, my devices connect to the network (same name as my laptop) but they can't surf.
     

Share This Page