Using MacBook Pro as router

Discussion in 'macOS' started by war eagle, Jul 14, 2009.

  1. war eagle macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #1
    I'm trying to use my MBP as a router so I can play my PS3 wirelessly while my computer has connection too.

    I can share the internet with my iPhone but I cant get it to connect with my PS3. What gives?
     
  2. Xavier macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #2
    Do you have Internet Sharing turn on in the Sharing preference?

    That way you can share your internet from the MBP over ethernet or WiFi.

    I used to do this via Ethernet to one of my old iMacs
     
  3. 1ne macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Canada Oil Country
    #3
    To makes thing simpler, why not just get a proper router. It's relative inexpensive. Save yourself a lot of messing around.
     
  4. soLoredd macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #4
    God, I tried this with my old MacBook and my 360. What a pain the butt. I would be able to connect to LIVE but it was pointless as the MB had a NAT setting I could not change. Made gaming online a waste of time. I even tried hooking it up via ethernet - no go. I was so frustrated I went out and bought the $99 adapter for the 360.

    Best thing I can recommend, and how I do my setup now, is get an Airport Express. They are cheap, portable, easy to configure.
     
  5. war eagle thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    #5
    I've got a router but our apartment doesn't have ethernet ports in the living area so we have it set up in my roomates room and the signal over on this end is really weak and vice versa if we move it. So right now my MBP is hooked up via ethernet in my room and im using it's internet for my iPhone and MBP but cant connect with the PS3!
     
  6. RITZFit macrumors 65816

    RITZFit

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2007
    Location:
    In my Corner
    #6
    you can try a range extender (or an even cheaper solution...run some cat5 down the halls :D )
     

Share This Page