Using Mbp screen for ibook

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by AppleGuy1980, Jul 19, 2008.

  1. AppleGuy1980 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #1
    I have an iBook with a cracked screen and a new Mbp. Is there a way to plug the iBook in so it's display will be shown ok the mbp?
     
  2. Mangaroo macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2008
    Location:
    London
  3. shoulin333 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Location:
    California
    #3
    not wihtout lagg/delay

    best bet is to get a new screen and put it in.. or get a cheap external lcd to hook it to
     
  4. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #4
    No you can't just plug it in, but you could plug the iBook to an external, set up VNC and then VNC to it from your MBP...
     
  5. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #5
    No direct way to do this without setting things up properly prior to the screen cracking, but I must assume that the iBook is running Leopard, in this case, you could set up screen sharing and use that.
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    Hence my suggestion would require connecting to an external; even if it means borrowing a friend's for a few hours.
     
  7. AppleGuy1980 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #7
    Just to clarify, I am only interested in doing this one time to get some data off. So I'm not so into getting an external. I just need a one time fix.
     
  8. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #8
    Then do a target boot.
     
  9. AppleGuy1980 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #9
    what's a target boot and how do I do one?
     
  10. iToaster macrumors 68000

    iToaster

    Joined:
    May 3, 2007
    Location:
    In front of my MacBook Pro
    #10
    Hold down T while starting up your iBook to start it up in FireWire target disk mode. Just so you know, if you don't already have a FireWire cable, you'll need one to be able to transfer your data.
     
  11. AppleGuy1980 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2008
    #11
    I don't have a cable what kind do I need 4 or 6 pin?

    Also the iBook is FileVaulted, will that cause issues?
     

Share This Page