Using Migration Assistant (I've searched)...

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Too Many Toys, Aug 29, 2007.

  1. Too Many Toys macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #1
    OK, in the next few days I'll be moving my data from my current 2.33 15" MBP to my new hi-res 17".

    I read a number of the threads about rather to or not to use the Migration Assistant. And I've used it 2 or 3 times w/o issues. So my question is, what exactly are the downsides to using it as opposed to the old drag & drop from Target Disk mode???

    Seems to be a lot of opinions, but I haven't found the 'not to' reasons?
     
  2. The General macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    #2
    It brings your accounts, settings, keychains, etc ...
     
  3. ElCamino macrumors member

    ElCamino

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Location:
    Cali
    #3
    I have been also using target mode on the old mac and have it transfer all my settings and programs over to the new Macbook Pro without any problems, ever since I had a iBook then to Macbook, then to Macbook Pro and now just last Saturday to the New SR MacBook Pro without any problems.
     
  4. CrzyCanuck72 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    #4
    I've only used Migration Assistant once, to go from my G4 eMac to my MacBook, but it worked perfectly. I don't see why you wouldn't use it, it's so easy.
     
  5. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #5
    'Not-to' use the Migration Assistant doesn't apply.
    There's really only one reason for the Migration Assistant to exist. To move your shiat from one Mac to another.

    You can transfer your stuff the hard way if you like. Just like those people who like to zero out there new Mac hard drives when they get them (making reference to the fact that some Mac users make things difficult for themselves for lame reasons).
     
  6. Too Many Toys thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #6
    Kewl, I thought I was missing something??? As I said, no problems from using it in the past. Sometimes I read too much on the 'net :D


     
  7. Ride9650 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    #7
    I know one reason alot of people don't like using migration assistant is because some Power PC based files don't play nice with the Intel chips. But considering you're moving stuff from another Intel mac, you should be ok.
     
  8. dammitjanet@gma macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    #8
    I just moved from a iBook G4, to two new macs, the iMac 24 and an 15" MacBook.

    I used Target Disk Mode on the iBook and transferred everything except applications, 20 minutes installing software on each and I was done. Don't forget to change the computer name, i was rather disconcerted to find my 24" imac saying it was an iBook when i logged in.
     
  9. Too Many Toys thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Location:
    Midwest, USA
    #9
    I used the Migration Assistant again. it's just too easy.

    The only issue is that I can't get my Parallels Desktop app working. Investigating that right now.
     
  10. bcpursel macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    #10
    i need to migrate from a G4 to a G5. seems like migration assistant is the simplest way to go right? just connect them with a firewire cable and go?
    or do i have to reboot using target disk mode on the G4 before i do it?

    one question i have is, do i need to have the same OSX version on both? or won't it matter? i have 10.3.9 on the G4, and the G5 will have 10.4.? ....i should have the tiger install disks when i get the G5, so i could update it if needed.
     
  11. GimmeSlack12 macrumors 603

    GimmeSlack12

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #11
    OS version doesn't matter, you are copying one drive (which has a certain OS) to another drive.
     

Share This Page