Using More Memory

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by SdPunk, Jul 24, 2011.

  1. SdPunk macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #1
    I looked to see if anyone has already brought this up, but I can't find anything. Anyway, I just installed Lion on my 2011 MBP yesterday, and besides dealing with trying to get used to it, I have noticed my system's memory usage has increased dramatically.

    It now consistently uses over 3 gigs even though I only have apps open. Is this now normal with Lion? Any suggestions? Anyone else experiencing this? Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Nielsenius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #2
    You are correct. Lion GM and 10.7.0 use significantly more RAM than most users are used to. However, I just installed 10.7.2 beta on my 2010 MBP. The RAM usage is significantly less than 10.7.0. It's gone from around 4GB to around 2GB during average use.
     
  3. SdPunk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #3
    Thanks for verifying this. I was afraid either I got something screwed up or I need to upgrade to 8gb. Come on 10.7.2!! :)
     
  4. HawaiiMacAddict macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Location:
    On one of my Macs of course
    #4
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A5274d Safari/7534.48.3)

    10.7.2? Are you from the future? That beta isn't even out yet.
     
  5. ayeying macrumors 601

    ayeying

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Location:
    Yay Area, CA
    #5
    No, it's out. Developers have it.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Nielsenius macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #6
    It turns out that Apple's Time Machine feature doesn't only back up data. Actually, it allows users to move their OS forward in time.

    All jokes aside, the 10.7.2 beta is available on the Apple Dev Portal.
     
  7. kopite19 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    #7
    Gutted. Just bought 8GB of RAM due to the increased RAM usage in Lion. Oh well....more is better anyway!
     
  8. 2IS macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    #8
    Yes, i've noticed increased memory usage as well. On a clean boot, the memory usage is about the same as SL, but after using it for a while, it climbs well above what SL ever used. Makes me VERY happy I opted for the 4GB option on my MBA.
     
  9. Jisuo macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Location:
    Sweden
    #9
    If you're not noticing any performance issues, just seeing increased numbers, why would you care? Memory is there to be used (for caching and speeding up the user experience) not to be laying around unused, that's just a big waste of Gigabytes.

    This exact discussion was all over windows forums when Win 7 was released.
     
  10. SdPunk thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    #10

    I can only speak for myself, but I am noticing performance issues. It is not as snappy as SL was.
     

Share This Page