Using my 5,1 to test a PC GPU

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by DanielCoffey, Jan 22, 2014.

  1. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #1
    I am in the process of building a new water cooled PC and I would like to test the new 780 Ti before stripping off the stock cooler and fitting the water block. I have the PC PSU which I can jump to power the card and I wanted to check the most convenient way of using my 5,1 to test the card.

    Here are what I was planning to do...

    1. Set my boot drive to the Win7-64 SSD
    2. Boot to Win7-64
    3. Use a driver cleaner to strip the AMD drivers
    4. Shut down and remove the current 7950
    5. Fit the 780 Ti
    6. Connect the 6+8-pin leads from the PC PSU and jump it to power the card
    7. Boot the Mac Pro into the Win7-64 drive
    8. Install the current nVidia drivers
    9. Heaven/Valley test the card
    10. Strip the nVidia drivers
    11. Shut down and revert the 5,1 to its current configuration.

    Does that sound like everything I would need to do? Could I test on the Mac side in the same way without messing up my current Mavericks install? I do have a clone drive I can use as a temporary Mavericks boot drive.
     
  2. riggles macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    #2
    Seems like you could skip steps 1-4 and just add the 780Ti, connect the jumped PSU, hook your display up to it, and boot into OSX, no? I'd just beware of anything that uses OpenCL with the 780Ti, since the GK110B chips aren't supported yet.

    Actually, I guess a better question would be to ask what testing you were looking to do.
     
  3. DanielCoffey thread starter macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #3
    I just want to make sure the card works at stock speed before taking off the cooler and losing any chance to return a lemon. There are the usual anti-tamper stickers on the screws on the back. If it can pass Heaven or Valley for a few minutes I am happy.

    If I can boot the card in OSX without messing up my main OSX install then great - that will save time.
     
  4. riggles macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    #4
    The 7-series drivers are built-in, so there shouldn't be any trouble in that regards.
     
  5. DanielCoffey thread starter macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #5
    Thanks - I just need to get my hands on a DP to mDP adapter so that I can carry on using the 27" ACD. I will get one at the same time I place my next order for the water-cooling fittings.
     
  6. Gav Mack macrumors 68020

    Gav Mack

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Location:
    Sagittarius A*
    #6
    Use the AMD uninstall tool in windows, most driver cleaners are anything but of the sort and even some of the better ones are loaded with adware.

    Have the nvidia windows drivers ready to install, cancel out of the automatic driver search and run the nvidia installer.

    Do custom install and untick the experience it's only an annoying update notifier advertising nvidia kit and adds a useless entry onto startup.

    Uninstall the nivdia, reboot and run your catalyst installer again.

    I would be concerned for my PSU if I was sticking a 780ti in mine and running benchmarks as it's close to the current edge. Costly if it blows it just to test it out!
     
  7. DanielCoffey thread starter macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #7
    I will be using the new PSU for the PC (Corsair AX860i) not the Mac's own, fortunately. Thanks for the advice on the driver removal/install too.
     

Share This Page