Using my E-HD for Mac and PC

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by wfoster, Feb 18, 2009.

  1. wfoster macrumors 6502a

    wfoster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    #1
    Well, I use a Mac for personal use and have around 30 other Windows PC's in the house and my school uses Windows.

    I do all my homework on my Mac with Word and needed an external hard-drive for school so I bought one. I needed to print some work in school from my external hard-drive and the work was done from my Mac. The hard-drive wouldn't show up in MY COMPUTER on the Windows PC.

    Do any of you understand what I just said?

    Will an external hard-drive only work on one OS?
     
  2. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #2
    What format is the HD?

    Only Fat32 can be read and written by both OSs.
     
  3. wfoster thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wfoster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
  4. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #4
    Disk Utility, select the Volume, then look at the bottom of the window.
     
  5. wfoster thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wfoster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    #5
    I just Get Info'd the HD and found out that it says 'Mac OS Extended' right next to the format column.

    Does this mean I'm stuffed?
     
  6. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #6
    You can format it as Fat32 (MS-DOS) and copy the files back - but right now, only a Mac can read that drive. (Unless the PC has MacDrive installed)

    I guess that is an easier way. Forgot about that one.
     
  7. wfoster thread starter macrumors 6502a

    wfoster

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Location:
    Plymouth, UK
    #7
    How do I make it with the format Fat32 so it can be read by both OS?

    I'm a Mac newbie. :p
     
  8. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    Disk Utility, Erase tab ... Copy all your files off first.
     

Share This Page