Using nMP SSD in old Mac Pro - possible?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Spacedust, Apr 6, 2014.

  1. Spacedust macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #1
    I would like to remove my Areca RAID card + RAID and instead place just one 512 GB SSD disk from new Mac Pro on a PCI-Express 2.0 card. Is this possible ?
     
  2. flatfoot macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    #2
    You'd need a PCIe adaptor card specifically made for the nMP SSD. I don't think anybody has come up with that yet.
     
  3. mikeboss macrumors 65816

    mikeboss

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Location:
    switzerland
    #3
  4. Small White Car macrumors G4

    Small White Car

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Location:
    Washington DC
    #4
    You should really just get one of these:

    http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/SSD/PCIe/OWC/Mercury_Accelsior/RAID

    Unless you've somehow acquired a SSD chip already and are looking for a way to use it, that is. But if you've bought nothing yet this is the simplest solution.

    I don't think they work with Boot Camp, but other than that they make fantastic boot drives. I don't need BC so I've been very happy with mine.
     
  5. TheHerdForever macrumors member

    TheHerdForever

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #5
    Isn't there another option too? I think it's called Sonnet Tempo II (I think they have a demo card out now with dual micro SSD blades on it. Can anyone comment on this? I am looking to get one myself.
     
  6. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #6
    Actually the best option IMHO, is the Apricorn Velocity Solo x2 with a Samsung Evo SSD. This seems to be a good fast redouble free solution. I have one in my 5,1 and it's working perfectly.

    http://www.apricorn.com/products/desktop-ssd-hdd-upgrade-kits/vel-solox2.html

    At this point in time there is no way to use the SSD from a nMP in a cMP and I doubt there ever will be. There never really will be a market for such an in interface IMHO.

    Lou
     
  7. TheHerdForever macrumors member

    TheHerdForever

    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    #7
    I looked at that one too Flow. The only thing that bothers me about that card is that it uses the bigger SSD. With the micro SSD, when I get a nMP someday, I can use (hopefully) the micro SSD cards in it, thus getting the most bang for the buck.
     
  8. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #8
    ^^^^I guess I don't understand:confused: The nMP is not internally expandable and the SSD interface is proprietary. How can this work?

    Lou
     
  9. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #9
    The interface is not proprietary. Another case of haters gonna hate.
     
  10. flowrider macrumors 601

    flowrider

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2012
    #10
    ^^^^Look Fella - I certainly am not a hater. I have been using Macs probably longer than you have been alive. All your posts are, how should I put it, ridiculous and I have never seen you do a bit of research. You constantly shoot from the hip, and you usually miss. Your one of the few here that post just to get you post count up. I have learned to ignore your posts, but when you are start attacking me you are going too far. Stay away Fella!

    And, who else uses the nMP storage interface:confused: The nMBP SSDs will fit, but they are different.

    Lou
     
  11. xcodeSyn macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    #11
    Wow, didn't realize that Anand was a hater when he stated "There’s a single proprietary Apple PCIe SSD connector and module inside the new Mac Pro." in his review right here. :eek:
     
  12. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #12
    Just because no one else uses that connector does make it proprietary. For it to be proprietary Apple would have to have exclusive legal rights to that connector which they do not.
     
  13. brand macrumors 601

    brand

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    #13
    When you spread FUD about the nMP yes it does make you come across as a hater.

    I doubt that and what point are you trying to make? That you have used computers for a long time. So just because you have used Apple computers for a supposedly long time means that you do like everything about the nMP. Seems like a stretch of reasoning to me.

    That the perfect definition of the part of your post that I quoted

    Actually I don't even know how many posts I have as I have never checked so try again.

    Yet you haven't learned you to use the ignore feature of the forums.

    I did not attack you. You need to calm down and act like the adult you try to imply that you are. On the other hand you could throw a fit and tell people to stay away.

    Just because no one else uses the same interface does not mean that the interface is proprietary. For an interface to be considered proprietary the company has to have a legal exclusive right to the design or technology. Think Rambus.
     
  14. antonis macrumors 68000

    antonis

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    #15
    Well, technically, brand is right. The term "proprietary" refers to property of something. So if Apple doesn't exclusively own this interface (e.g. a 3rd OEM doesn't need to license it in order to use it) then it is not proprietary (from Wikipedia definition: Proprietary hardware)

    Practically, however, in the IT universe we tend to use this term for everything that is not commonly used, or is not a standard (because it makes us nervous about where we are going to find replacement or upgrade parts :) ). So from a practical PoV it is "proprietary" (mind the double quotes please), at least for now.

    So, peace. ;)
     
  15. Spacedust thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #16
    My current array with 4x OCZ Vertex 4 64 GB drives in RAID 0 and my controller is having such speeds ;)

    [​IMG]

    My ARC-1880 is on it's way to give even more SATA-III speed ;)
     

Share This Page