Using older Linksys to extend airport extreme signal

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by idoccurt, Jan 31, 2015.

  1. idoccurt macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #1
    This may sound strange, because I am no network guy, but can i use a linksys wireless router to "wirelessly" extend the network of my apple extreme? More simplified, can i connect the two, configure, and then disconnect my linksys, move to another room, to extend its range?

    I don't think that is possible, but wanted to ask.
    Thanks
     
  2. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #2
    Hi,

    this is possible only if this specific router has a "wireless repeater" function, or a "WDS" function.

    What model is it exactly ?
     
  3. idoccurt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
  4. idoccurt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
  5. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #6
    Yes, absolutely.

    http://support.apple.com/en-us/HT202056

    However, this is not the best solution to extend your network : the best solution is "Extending the range of your Wi-Fi network by connecting Wi-Fi base stations together using Ethernet" as the Apple page states it.
     
  6. idoccurt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #7
    airport utility

    it appears that you will need airport utility 5.5.2 or earlier. Is that the only thing that will support WDS? I currently am running 6.3.4. Will that not allow me to do it?
     
  7. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #8
    It depends on which model of Extreme and Express you have.
     
  8. idoccurt thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    #9
    ox x

    Downloaded 5.5.3 but will not install with mavericks. Will this not work?
     
  9. Bruno09 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Location:
    Far from here
    #10
    Let us know what model of Extreme you have.

    You can not use AU 5.5.3 on Mavericks (you won't need it, anyway).
     
  10. Altemose macrumors G3

    Altemose

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Location:
    Elkton, Maryland
    #11
    WDS is only used on old AirPorts, as in the old UFO shaped models. You will use the "Extend" functionality which is supported in the new version just fine.
     

Share This Page