Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gaussian

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 11, 2007
Hi,

I'm new to mac and am getting a MBP and am deciding what to do about standard users/admins (e.g. whether to have my main account be an admin or not). I have two questions:

1. Does it harm anything to toggle on/off the "allow user to administer this computer" button several (or many) times over a period of time? (That is, are there lower level system files that might get mucked up?)

This is in case I'm indecisive and go back & forth, and also very relevant for:

2. Would it be reasonable to have an admin account plus my main account, but when I needed to do admin tasks that required me to actually login to an admin account, I toggled the "allow user to administer . . ." button for my main account (and so "did everything" from there instead of performing any tasks in the admin account)? [I realize that I'd have to go to the dedicated admin account to toggle the option off again.]

The reason I ask is that it sounds like there are some admin things that should really be done or can only be done in an admin account (instead of with spot admin authorization) and I'd like to be able to do these things from my main account (for convenience; so I could multitask; so I wouldn't have to worry about getting any settings in the admin account setup as I wouldn't really use it; to "get the best of both worlds"; etc).

Thanks!

sfisher

macrumors regular
Jun 20, 2007
Albuquerque, NM USA
1. Does it harm anything to toggle on/off the "allow user to administer this computer" button several (or many) times over a period of time? (That is, are there lower level system files that might get mucked up?)

I do not see any reason why this would hurt anything.