Using OSX in a windows environment...

Discussion in 'macOS' started by markfc, May 30, 2007.

  1. markfc macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #1
    Somebody once posted a link to a website that had tips for running OSX in a windows environment....anyone remember the link?

    Failing that, any tips for mounting Windows volumes in OSX through a login script etc?
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  3. markfc thread starter macrumors 6502a

    markfc

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Location:
    Prestatyn, Wales, UK
    #3
    ok, nothing really specific, just wanted to know how well it can fit in with Windows Server/Active Directory.

    I'm quite impressed with Entourage so far. Well as impressed as one can be with an MS Product ;-)
     
  4. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #5
    How well? Almost any UNIX based computer can replace quite a few Windows based servers. Windows admins have learned not to load up each server with to many functions or you get stability problems. This rule of thumb does not apply to Solaris, Linux, BSD or Mac OSX. In a server situation OSX is just another UNIX" because (1)you don't use the graphic interface in a lights-out server room. All the server functions, apache, samba, bind and so on are the same programs wetter Solaris or OSX.
     
  5. MacsRgr8 macrumors 604

    MacsRgr8

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2002
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    #6
    Do you mean as a client?

    Mac OS X has an Active Direcoty plugin which enables the Mac to be bound to an AD master for user policies. Fire up /Applications/Utilities/Directory Access and double click AD.
    The SMB client is so so... Sometimes a Win2K3 server has to be altered a bit for SMB passwords from Tiger to work...The Digitally sign communications (always) has to be set to Disabled.
    If you have an INtel Mac, just get Parallels, install Windows and let your XP be connected to AD, nice and easy. :D
     

Share This Page