Using Parallels to install windows on Bootcamp?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by g^3, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. g^3 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    #1
    I have a windows installed in parallel and am wondering if I can somehow use that to install windows on the bootcamp partition. I've lost my windows xp CD and don't really have the money or time to buy another. Thanks for your help!
     
  2. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    You might be able to use a cloning program to clone the xp install into the BC partition from within Parallels' XP ...

    Haven't tried it, but it might be worth a shot.
     
  4. steveza macrumors 68000

    steveza

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #4
    I think that the cloning method causes XP to blue screen on starting due to the different drivers. Same thing will happen if you take a hard drive with XP installed and swap it between a Dell and a HP PC.
     
  5. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #5
    Ok, didn't know that. Might be worth a try though, the only thing lost would be the time spent cloning.
     
  6. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #6
    A couple of things to keep in mind here with this approach.

    It would require a reauthorization of XP since the hardware changed.
    Would be best to uninstall the parralles drivers.
    Provided you can even SEE the bootcamp partition in parallels it may be possible.
    You could get prompted for the disk to install new drivers that aren't present in the Windows\System32 directory.

    Everytime I see "I've lost this cd, that cd" I get skeptical. Sure I've lost things and disks before but I've sucked it up. OS Disks however are like your underware (other jokes aside) you really don't want to tell someone "I lost my underwear so Im not wearing any"

    If you have the CD Key you can always download/torrent or borrow a disk and use your cd key and reinstall. The torrent part is risky but you at least DID or DO own a legit cd key (assuming).

    The cloning software might work (paragon, ghost, etc) but if it's a trial version it might not do everything. In the end it might be cheaper to buy a new disk or request a replacement. The cloning since your cloning from a virtual disk to a physical drive might pose issues though. Remember, bootcamp doesn't have an MBR and some cloning programs modify the MBR to allow the drive be bootable.
     
  7. g^3 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2005
    #7
    Thanks for all the replies. I somehow found my install CD and everything worked out well.

    KKat69, be as skeptical as you like, but I did buy a legitimate copy from my university. For some of us, our OS's are like our underwear and are easily misplaced.;)
     
  8. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #8
    I don't need to read about your weekend. :D
     
  9. kkat69 macrumors 68020

    kkat69

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, Ga
    #9
    I meant no offense, it's a general feeling as a lot of people try to 'cheat' the system. Nowhere were you called out as being one of them. Nor do I call out anyone.
     

Share This Page