Using Photoshop cs2 on the new 24" iMac... speed?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by newkeyboard, Aug 16, 2007.

  1. newkeyboard macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    #1
    My iMac is being delivered today. I'm still not sure if it will suit my needs as an illustrator but I'll fire it up and see what I think of the screen.
    What I want to know is will photoshop cs2 run okay on the new iMacs or do I need to upgrade to CS3 (intel version)?
    I'm planning on using it on a 24" iMac 2.4ghz with 4gb Ram.
     
  2. spxy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #2
    Dont know the answer to the speed issue but I use an 20" 2Ghz intel Core Duo at work, and have both CS2 and CS3 running on it.
    CS3 is quite a bit faster but CS2 is still runs fine on it for most things, and quite a bit faster than on my 1Ghz eMac at home.
    I assume the new imacs will be faster again.
    A lot will depend on what you're used to now.

    I'm eagerly awaiting my 2.8Ghz iMac as I type...
     
  3. rainydays macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    #3
    In my experience, CS2 performs pretty bad on Intel Mac, especially with larger projects. I would really recommend upgrading to CS3 if you make a living using it. Also I think they made most of their products much better with this update (they usually don't in my opinion). I'm especially impressed with Illustrator CS3 as it can almost replace Fireworks for me as a web designer.
     
  4. newkeyboard thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    #4
    Thanks for the responses guys. At the moment I'm using CS2 on a 1.25ghz G4 iMac(none intel) with 768mb RAM. When working on large detailed pieces it does get a bit slow. How do you think I'll fare compared to this setup. Will the speed boost of the processor and RAM be offset by using CS2 instead of CS3?
     
  5. l33r0y macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    #5
    If your using CS2 on an IntelMac, you'll not get the full benefit as you'll be running under Rosetta (as you probably already know).

    Having said that, my guess is that it'll probably run a little faster than the old machine, perhaps this will be acceptable for you. However, save the pennies and upgrade to get the most of of your investment. You wouldn't put cheap petrol in a Ferrari, would ya? ;)
     
  6. newkeyboard thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Location:
    Sussex, UK
    #6
    I'm an illustrator... I can't afford a Ferrari;)

    Cs3 here I come then:D
     
  7. spxy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #7
    See my post earlier , my home set up is similiar to you (1Hz 768mb RAM), and CS2 runs much faster on a 2Ghz intel with 2G's or RAM. So I believe the new machines will be even better in this regard.

    Why not download the trial version of CS3, when you get your new computer, to see if the considerable extra ££££'s for CS3 are really worth it.
     
  8. spxy macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2004
    #8
    Just got my 2.8Ghz iMac this morning, loaded CS1 creative suite and after effects and they run like rockets WOW!

    Seems faster than CS3 on the original 2Ghz duo coress!!!!
     

Share This Page