Using Preview to edit PDFs?

ISJB

macrumors member
Original poster
May 4, 2011
So, I need to add 5 blank pages at the end of a PDF. I select the last page of the PDF (on the sidebar/thumbnail), and click Edit -> Insert Blank Page, but the page goes above my last page! Like if I have 3 pages on my PDF, I select the thumbnail for page number 3 and add a new blank (hoping it'll be number 4), but it ends up going between page 2 and 3!
Then I try to move them around by dragging the thumbnails, but can't! Any suggestions how to do this?

Btw, I can't just add 5 blank pages after printing, they MUST be inside the PDF beforehand

Nov 28, 2010
located
Then drag them to the bottom of the Sidebar and delete the blank page above the not empty page.

Here is how I can do it:

Last edited:

ISJB

macrumors member
Original poster
May 4, 2011
Sorry, if I wasn't clear. I can't drag pages! Any of them, anywhere. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong; I've never tried this before..

EDIT:
Alright, thanks! Will try that now :)

Also, if I join many PDFs in one, I can just print them all together right?

They look like this in the thumbnail:

Attachments

Last edited:
Nov 28, 2010
located
Sorry, if I wasn't clear. I can't drag pages! Any of them, anywhere. I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong; I've never tried this before..

EDIT:
Alright, thanks! Will try that now :)
Does it work then? If not, what Mac OS X version do you use?

Also, if I join many PDFs in one, I can just print them all together right?

They look like this in the thumbnail:
Yes, that will work too.

ISJB

macrumors member
Original poster
May 4, 2011
I can't seem to get it work! (the page-moving I mean)

My Mac is 10.6.8 and Preview is version 5

Nov 28, 2010
located
I can't seem to get it work! (the page-moving I mean)

My Mac is 10.6.8 and Preview is version 5
Have you tried deleting "com.apple.Preview.plist" in Macintosh HD / Users / YOU / Library / Preferences / yet?