using ssd as a boot and aperture on second drive?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by sukanas, Feb 26, 2010.

  1. sukanas macrumors 6502a

    sukanas

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #1
    So I really wanna go sad but I have a pretty big aperture library. Will I be okay putting ssd in the optibay and the aperture in hdd(I'm aware of the sleep issue) Will my aperture work be bogged down from it being on the hdd
     
  2. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #2
    I think that is the way most people do it. I've got over 400GB in photos in aperture and LR and it's just not cost effective to use SSD at this point for primary data storage.

    sure it won't be AS fast, but with a large drive, it will be fine.
     
  3. sukanas thread starter macrumors 6502a

    sukanas

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    #3
    So loading aperture would be fast? But rendering and writing would be just as slow as hdd?
     
  4. spinnerlys Guest

    spinnerlys

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Location:
    forlod bygningen
    #4
    The library will load like usual, just the applications will load faster and page outs can be written faster, if the RAM gets to full.
     
  5. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #5
    This is correct. An SSD will make your system feel much faster overall.

    One other thing you can consider is perhaps having your main library on your external drive but if you do a big shoot load those images into their own library right on the SSD while you are working with that photo set. I'm not sure if Aperture supports it, but perhaps when you are done processing the set, you can merge the mini library back into the main library on your external or just move the library to the external drive freeing up room on the SSD for your next big shoot. Someone who has a better grasp of library management in Aperture 3 might be better able to answer how this can be accomplished.
     
  6. pprior macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    #6
    Yes.

    Enough RAM and GPU is going to make a difference as well.

    I have a G2 Intel SSD, and I'd love to have enough space to have my photos on there, but it's just too darn expensive.

    Don't get too bummed out, you can always stripe hard drives if you really need more speed.
     
  7. gonzaload1987 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    #7
    I was wondering if i will feel any difference from using a ssd drive with itunes and my library on an external wireless drive? :confused:
     
  8. VirtualRain macrumors 603

    VirtualRain

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC
    #8
    See Post #4 - the key to good performance with an external drive is to not let it spin down as a power saving measure... otherwise you will be in beachball land.
     
  9. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #9
    Those things are very slow. If the Aperture library is on an external disk you want FireWire 800. Using FW800 rather than FW400 really makes a difference.
     
  10. wheelhot macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2007
    #10
    Hey, interesting that you got a similar topic as mine. I'm planning to do the same thing actually (except just getting a FW800 portable drive instead of changing my main hard disk to SSD)

    If you are looking for FW800 portable drive, check out this posts, a discussion about portable drives and backing up stuffs ;)
     

Share This Page