Using T-Zones with 2g with 3.0

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by asullivant, Jun 21, 2009.

  1. asullivant macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #1
    I've googled how to do this, but its all old articles from 2007-08 with like, 1.something firmware.

    Does anyone use this hack? How can I make it work?
     
  2. jmann macrumors 604

    jmann

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Location:
    bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
    #2
    Please read on the official blog for more info. I'm sure that if you google "iphone 2g jailbreak 3.0" that you would have gotten your exact answer. :) Anyway, you need to download redsn0w to jailbreak the device, or you can use Pwnage Tool. Then when you are jailbroken you download "bootneuter" to unlock the phone, just like in almost all firmwares before it. The process is almost the exact same.
     
  3. asullivant thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #3
    I've already unlocked it. I was talking about T-zones that T-mobile offers. Its like 6 dollar internet or something.
     
  4. rapidj macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2003
    #4
    I have s similar question. I too have a 2G iPhone that was running on 2.x. I used pwnage to upgrade to 3.0. Phone is unlocked and jailbroken and works fine, albeit a bit buggy. Anyhow, I don't how to get my t-zones to work again. There was a hack for it, but now I don't find it in Cydia. Is there a new T-Mobile hack? Also redSnow is for the 3g models right? Mine is an early generation iPhone. Can anyone please shed some light

    thanks
     
  5. justinm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    #5
    Just set your APN to epc.tmobile.com. That's what I do on the $5.99 plan. Works great!
     
  6. asullivant thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #6
    I can't find the $5.99 plan on t-mobile, what is it under?
     
  7. justinm macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Location:
    Orlando FL
    #7
    I think a while ago they stopped offering it. I still have it because I am grandfathered in. ;)
     
  8. Bootsie macrumors 6502a

    Bootsie

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Location:
    Utah
    #8
    Yeah I don't think that they offer it anymore, but if they do you will have to call them, I could never find it on their site. It is worth a call to customer care though.
     
  9. Ironglass macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #9
    Didn't want to start a new thread, so I thought this topic could help me out a bit.

    I have a 2g iPhone on 3.0 JB'd and unlocked for use on T-Mobile. I have the T-Zones plan and before 3.0 it worked. Now I've been trying to get it to work again on 3.0, but I realized something... There's no way for me to access APN settings!

    [​IMG]

    Any one have any ideas?
     
  10. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #10
    Go here with your iphone browser http://help.benm.at/usa.php
    Then it will allow you to download and install a custom apn and it will also allow you tethering.
     
  11. Ironglass macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    #11
    Hot damn! It worked! Thanks Applejuiced. Sadly no tethering though.
     
  12. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #12
    That sucks.
    There's no option to turn on tethering under settings/network or it just doesnt work?

     
  13. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #13
    Nevermind, you said you're using a 2G iphone.
    Tethering is not supported on that thru 3.0 software. Just hit up PDAnet.
     
  14. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #14
    Man i Have to remember all this stuff when i get home to my own computer. Im out of town and wont be back till Wed afternoon.
     
  15. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #15
    You can do it now if you got your iphone with you and a free wifi connection :)

     
  16. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #16
    I havent upgraded yet to 3.0. Does that matter?

    EDIT*

    Yeah says safari cant download this file. Im still on 2.2 right now til i get home.
     
  17. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
  18. PhunkSession macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    #18
    Go to Settings,General,Network and then Cellular Data Network. Type in the APN:epc.tombile.com.Leave Username and Password blank
     
  19. worldisanalogue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #19
    I've typed in epc.tmobile.com in the apn settings, I've turned on data roaming. I've even tried wap.voicestream.net, internet2.voicestream.net, internet3.voicestream.net and nothing. I just get the upgrade your plan page, and can browse the T-Zones page. Does anyone know of a way to get the hack without Cydia? It seems lots of people have this problem and everyone says use epc.tmobile.com, but it plain doesnt work anymore for me. I've upgraded to 3.0.
     
  20. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #20
    Look at post #10 above.
     
  21. worldisanalogue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #21
    I tried that as well, still get directed to the "upsell" web2go page. I'm using a 2g if that makes a difference.
     
  22. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #22
    Dont know. I havent upgraded mine to 3.0 yet and i have a 2G with t-Mobile. If the data wont work with it, then i wont upgrade. I thought somebody said they got it to work with their 2G. Maybe it was a 3G. Not sure.
     
  23. worldisanalogue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
  24. Vegastouch macrumors 603

    Vegastouch

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Location:
    Las Vegas, NV
    #24
    Hmm, mine works fine and i have the $5.99 t zones data plan.
     
  25. worldisanalogue macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    #25
    after you installed your custom apn you kept it wap.voicestram.com in both sections?
     

Share This Page