using the bootcamp partition with parallels

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by tfannon, Jul 8, 2012.

  1. tfannon macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #1
    I wanted to know if any of you guys are actively doing this? Dual booting with Bootcamp AND using Parallels and having it point to this partition. IMO: this is an AWESOME feature because you don't need to duplicate the space to have a native boot and a separate VM image.

    However, I am wondering about how Windows and Office detect and deal with the hardware changes when you boot differently. How do you avoid getting into the "hardware has changed, please reactivate spiral"?

    Thank you in advance for any help.
     
  2. daleski75 macrumors 65816

    daleski75

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    #2
    Once you have reactivated under bootcamp and parallels it should remain that way but hey this is windows!

    Also you can suspend under parallels even with bootcamp for speed.
     
  3. DannySmurf macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    #3
    Once you've activated in Boot Camp, the first time you start it up in Parallels, you may need to reactivate once more. After that, you should be good. If you install an OEM copy of Windows, this will be a problem for you. If you have a retail or subscription copy, you should be fine.
     
  4. Vexed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2012
    #4
    I'm running it that way right now on mine. I usually set it full screen and just swap back and forth between my desktops using the track pad functionality, it's virtually seamless.
     
  5. NMF macrumors 6502a

    NMF

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    #5
    The problem with that setup is Parallels can't use it's suspend/resume feature, and you better be sure you "shut down" in Windows before you ever restart the computer. I for one LOVE the instant suspend/resume you get from having a dedicated Windows file for Parallels.

    I still have a boot camp partition, but only for the occasional game.
     
  6. riptideMBP macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    #6
    The dual setup works perfectly fine for me, though I admit I never use the suspend feature in parallels.
     
  7. tfannon thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    #7
    it seems to me you *can* suspend

    you get a warning about not booting into bootcamp natively until you do a shutdown from the VM.
     

Share This Page