Using the MBP's display for gaming

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ntsapp3, Apr 19, 2007.

  1. ntsapp3, Apr 19, 2007
    Last edited: Mar 29, 2012
  2. landis macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Location:
    Toronto/Kingston Canada
    #2
    you can use an eye tv to plug in a gaming console into your mac. check their website for all the different models available.
     
  3. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    You'll want to get yourself something like the EyeTV Hybrid. That'll give you a DTV tuner as well as an analogue tuner and analogue inputs for use with things such as your PS2. I have one and use it with my Wii to much success. :)
     
  4. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #4
    Just watch out for latency... if the screen lags behind the gameplay too much...
     
  5. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    That was more of a problem with the older USB1 TV cards that had to compress the image to fit down USB1's 11Mbps bandwidth. They were useless for gaming. The new decent USB2 puppies don't have to encode the information to fit down the cable because of the much higher bandwidth available to USB2 devices. I haven't noticed any lag whatsoever whilst playing my Wii on my Elgato EyeTV Hybrid. :)
     
  6. Skaff macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2007
    #6
    Will the hybrid also allow digital high def for the PS3 and Xbox360? And just say I'm using a MacBook, will the display quality as good as a regular 13" digital HDTV? Sorry, one more question - will it be important to have lots of RAM i.e, 2GB?

    Thanks!
     
  7. justflie macrumors 6502a

    justflie

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Location:
    Red Sox Nation
    #7
    Ditto. No lag although I'm always half afraid of throwing a remote through my iMac...:p
     
  8. Anonymous Freak macrumors 601

    Anonymous Freak

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Location:
    Cascadia
    #8
    No. At present, there are no (cheap) HD component input devices. The video in on the Hybrid is standard-def only. The display quality of my Wii on my MacBook Pro is actually slightly WORSE than on my standard-def 27" TV. (Because the MBP screen doesn't actually make a good SD screen, combined with the fact that I'm sitting right up next to it, making the flaws more noticeable.) A friend with a 24" iMac says his Wii looks just fine and dandy on it, since he sits a reasonable distance away.

    If you have a Mac Pro, though, for $250, you can get a Blackmagic Intensity, which has HDMI input for your PS3.
     

Share This Page