Using Time Capsule JUST for back-ups (not as a router) ..

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by mgpg89, Sep 17, 2008.

  1. mgpg89 macrumors 6502a

    mgpg89

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Location:
    Belgium
    #1
    Is this possible?
    we already have a router and I just want to use the time capsule for back-ups and to connect a HDD to it to access it wirelessly.

    ps, if our router is B/G speed, but the time capsule is N speed, and my MBP is N speed ... the file transfer from and to my HDD wil be in N-speed as well, right?
     
  2. richxps macrumors 65816

    richxps

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #2
    good question, i would like to get one of these just as a wireless back up and not use the router atleast until mine dies.
     
  3. MacBass macrumors 6502

    MacBass

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2005
    Location:
    La Crosse, WI
    #3
    The 802.11n speed will only be obtained if you directly connect to the TC, meaning you'd have to have a wired connection from your router to your MBP.
     
  4. Le Big Mac macrumors 68020

    Le Big Mac

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    The TC should be able to be set up to provide wireless access without doing the router-ing itself. I.e., your router does the DHCP assignment, but the TC distributes a wireless connection to your local network. If you do that and connect wirelessly then you can get N speeds. And if connect with a wire, then you'll get gigabit speeds, not just N-wireless speeds.

    Check apple's website (or search here) for a thorough configuration guide on Airport Extreme/Express and Time Capsule. All the possible configurations are covered.
     
  5. skorpien macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    #5

Share This Page