Using Time Machine, Encryption, Transferring data onto new rMB...

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Eggtastic, Dec 7, 2016.

  1. Eggtastic macrumors 6502a

    Eggtastic

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #1
    I finally got a 2016 rMB m5 to replace my 2011 11" MBA. I want to begin transferring data over from the MBA to the rMB. I have an external HD (Western Digital) from 2011 and use it for Time Machine. I only back up every few months and decided to obviously back up my MBA one final time so I can use Migration Assistant and start loading stuff onto my rMB.

    The problem I ran into was it wouldn't begin the backup unless I encrypted the external HD. So I went ahead and did so, only for it to take all night and then some (probably over 8-9 hours).

    What is the exact point of this? I just wanted to back up my MBA on final time and use migration assistant to transfer the data or use one of the back ups to restore on my new rMB. Now the external HD is being encrypted.

    Am I going about this wrong? If this was going to take this long I would just have done it over wi-fi.
     
  2. Fishrrman macrumors G5

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #2
    Here's what I suggest you do:

    1. Download CarbonCopyCloner. CCC is FREE to download, and it's FREE to use for 30 days.

    2. Use CCC to clone the contents of your MBA drive to the external drive (note: you DON'T need to clone the recovery partition for this job).

    3. Take the backup clone (which should NOT be encrypted) to the new MacBook.

    4. At the appropriate moment during the setup process, the setup assistant will ask if you wish to migrate from an older computer or drive.

    5. Connect the CCC cloned backup and "aim" setup assistant at it.

    6. Setup Assistant should "bring over" whatever you have told it to do.

    Using CCC, the process should go much faster.

    When you're done, you can encrypt the new drive, if so desired.
     
  3. Weaselboy Moderator

    Weaselboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Location:
    California
    #3
    Yeah... you clicked the wrong option somewhere along the line there. Time Machine definitely does not require the external drive to be encrypted. There is an option to do that and it sounds like you checked that option.

    You can see the option checkbox here on my Mac.

    Screen Shot 2016-12-07 at 9.26.35 AM.png
     
  4. Eggtastic thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Eggtastic

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    NJ
    #4
    Yes, and when I selected a backup disc to use for the back up, it would start the countdown and when it reached 1 seconds it would have a window pop up saying that the "disc was not encrypted" (somewhere along those words not exactly) and would not continue.
     

Share This Page