Using Time Machine wirelessly

Discussion in 'macOS' started by dogegg, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. dogegg macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    #1
    Hi,

    I am hoping that someone with a bit more networking expertise can help me out.

    I back up my MBP on an external hard drive but sometimes leave a long time between back-ups as need dig out the hard drive plug it in and let it back-up generally when I've got the time and don't forget. I would love to be able to do this wirelessly by plugging my hard drive into the hub I use.

    I have a BT Home Hub 2 at home and have searched the web but couldn't find any good tutorials on how to do this (if it is indeed possible). I would love to be able to plug the hard drive in and leave it and the whole thing effectively work like the Time Capsule.

    Someone will probably say just buy a time capsule but at the minute I haven't got the money.

    Thanks for your help in advance,

    Chris
     
  2. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #2
    According to Wikipedia.

    This makes it very difficult to do what you want because of FAT32s 4GB file limitation. (On non-Apple drives you need to wrap the Time Machine image in a sparseimage bundle and I'm not sure it enforces <4GB "chunks")

    You would be better off picking up something like the Synology USB Station http://www.synology.com/enu/products/USBStation/index.php and make that work. You could re-use your current drive (after formatting) and it would be a lot cheaper than a Time Capsule.

    http://www.synology.com/enu/products/USBStation/index.php

    B
     
  3. walterwhite macrumors 6502

    walterwhite

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Location:
    South Central PA
    #3
    If you mount the drive while it is connected to your BT Home Hub 2 it should work by going to Time machine and choosing that drive.
    Does you Hard Drive mount when you plug it into the USB port? (see photo)
     

    Attached Files:

  4. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #4
    Does that mean that the Home Hub 2 supports HFS+? Do you have personal experience with this?

    B
     
  5. walterwhite macrumors 6502

    walterwhite

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Location:
    South Central PA
    #5
    AH... yes the drive needs to be GUID formatted

     
  6. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    GUID Partition Table (GPT) format is the "modern" one used by Macs, Linux and Windows 7 64 bit.

    I believe you are thinking MBR (Master Boot Record). The old-school DOS hard drive format.

    B
     

Share This Page