Using time machine with only an iMac's internal Hard-rive?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by djnardu, Oct 20, 2007.

  1. djnardu macrumors regular

    djnardu

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #1
    With buying Leopard i'm a little short on Cash right now, and being at college backing up to a network is not easy.

    So my question is, is it possible to use time-machine with only my iMacs 120GB internal drive?

    Can it use a partition of the drive for backups would I need to create a separate drive to backup files too?

    Is it even possible or is there certain features that Time-Machines uses without the backup drive?
     
  2. psychofreak Retired

    psychofreak

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Location:
    London
  3. djnardu thread starter macrumors regular

    djnardu

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #3
    Thats rly cool maybe I can just not use Vista and have those 32 Gb's for backup.
     
  4. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #4
    This defeats part of the purpose of a backup, though, which is to protect against hardware failure of a main drive.
     
  5. nuclearwinter macrumors regular

    nuclearwinter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Milky Way
    #5
    While this is absolutely true, the OP's idea would be great for notebook users: immediate version backup on the local drive while away from the main external back up drive.

    I plan on giving a few GB's (by way of a partition on the local drive) to Time Machine and then have another external drive for the "real" Time Machine back up.
     
  6. ntrigue macrumors 68040

    ntrigue

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    #6
    Is the space directly proportional to that data being backed-up or is there some compression?

    Suppose I have 70GB Music - 110GB Pics/Vids - 20GB Applications

    Will I require exactly a 200GB HDD?
     
  7. djnardu thread starter macrumors regular

    djnardu

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #7
    Well I made a thread about how I should make a disk partition because I dont know how, but it was closed.

    I didn't ask in here because it was just a question about if Time Machine is able to work outside of an internal disk.

    So ill ask it here, anybody know what is the best way for me to make a separate disk partition? Thanks
     
  8. Sun Baked macrumors G5

    Sun Baked

    Joined:
    May 19, 2002
    #8
    A partition on the same time is good for a backup OS for the times you ruin the startup OS with an install, or the times when the disk catalog gets thrashed.

    But these days the drive is more likely to go terminal before suffering a corrupted disk catalog.
     
  9. Sbrocket macrumors 65816

    Sbrocket

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Location:
    /dev/null
    #9
    Not really. First, I was applying it more to the specific case of an iMac - its not very portable. Even if it was a portable machine, it isn't possible to have two Time Machine backups running, one on the internal and one on an external. If you're looking for something to keep backups with a granularity of less than an hour (say, automatically when changes are made) that is portable, Time Machine (sadly) isn't the right tool. Hopefully some improvements will be made in the future to make this possible for laptop users like myself.
     
  10. kolax macrumors G3

    kolax

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    #10
    Part of the bonus of having an external hard drive is if your Mac hard drive failed for whatever reason, or your Mac got stolen, you'd still have all your data backed up.
     
  11. djnardu thread starter macrumors regular

    djnardu

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2007
    #11
    Im not worried about a drive crash, more so the fact of deleting or missing files and such that I might have deleted or lost.
     
  12. vansouza macrumors 68000

    vansouza

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Location:
    West Plains, MO USA Earth
    #12
    DiskStudio

    I used DiskStudio to split my 1Tb disk in my AL-iMac in half... and it did not disturb my installation. When it was done the 1Tb drive was split in two; one called Macintosh HD and one called Macintosh HD_2. Made me very :D as I thought it would wipe the installed partition clean :eek:
     
  13. nuclearwinter macrumors regular

    nuclearwinter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Milky Way
    #13
    Gosh darn it. I'm moving to Vista.
     
  14. Nick12945 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #14
    Don't you dare utter those terrible words here! :apple: all the way!
     
  15. nuclearwinter macrumors regular

    nuclearwinter

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2003
    Location:
    Milky Way
    #15
    Ok. I'll stick around until 10.6, but I'm not guaranteeing anything. Because of the way Time Machine works, I don't see why using it on two drives is impossible. Maybe someone else could set me straight?
     

Share This Page