Using TRU (Truphone) SIM card on Verizon iPhone 4S

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Gazzer, May 23, 2012.

  1. Gazzer macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    #1
    I have a Verizon account (CDMA) in Texas with iPhone 4S. I am traveling to the UK for several months. I purchased a micro-SIM card from Truphone (TRU) and then activated it. Over a week ago I requested Verizon for a sim unlock which has been confirmed. I inserted the Tru SIM but cannot connect to any GSM network--still shows Verizon. I was informed I should get at least a roaming AT&T signal. Am I doing something wrong. Is there a setting preference?

    My goal is just to make sure the SIM card and Verizon unlock work before I get to UK. I do not need to use the TRU service at this time. Is this a bad SIM card or is it impossible to get a GSM signal on a Verizon iPhone 4S while in the US? Both Verizon and Truphone techs give conflicting advice. Technically this should work, right? So many factors involved it seems a very big risk to leave this to chance and to spend time troubleshooting when in UK.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated--Thanks Gazzer
     
  2. DerekRod macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #2
    Did you turn of CDMA roaming and turned the phone off then back on after inserting the sim?
     
  3. Gazzer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    #3
    Do you mean the CDMA setting under Settings > General > Network > Roaming > International CDMA. If so yes, it is OFF.
     
  4. DerekRod macrumors 6502a

    DerekRod

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Location:
    NY
    #4
    did you turn the iphone off then insert the tru sim?
     
  5. bidwalj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    #5
    Once you insert the foreign sim, the phone restarts and activates again. Are you getting to this step?

    If not, you should get an invalid error if the phone was not unlocked.

    If you are getting neither, it could be the sim or your phone is not reading the sim.
     
  6. Gazzer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    #6
    No I am not getting to that first step. I am getting no changes and no error messages. Verizon label still showing up on the top left as the carrier. What do you suggest?
     
  7. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #7
    It's impossible to get a GSM signal on a Verizon iPhone when you're still getting a signal from a Verizon tower.
    Also, Verizon iPhones should not be able to roam on AT&T or T-Mobile even with a foreign SIM installed.
    The Carrier settings file excludes these GSM networks on Verizon and Sprint iPhones.
     
  8. Gazzer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    #8
    rjohnstone,

    Thanks for that explanation. Why can others do this? Is it my location? And why so many conflicting answers? Verizon and Tru techs state otherwise. I have two reputable and recent links online as well, one to a tutorial video and another to a ZDNet blog that it is possible. Not knowing the policy on posting links, I am excluding them. Just trying to make absolutely sure this is not a bad sim.
     
  9. rjohnstone macrumors 68040

    rjohnstone

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Location:
    PHX, AZ.
    #9
    Your first hurdle is finding an area with NO Verizon CDMA coverage.
    Not hard here in AZ, but not sure about where you're located.

    Once you are out of CDMA coverage, this includes Sprint as VZW and Sprint do have roaming agreements in some states, the phone should try hunting for a GSM signal.

    As for roaming on AT&T using a foreign SIM, it's my understanding that should not work, but I could be wrong.

    I do know an AT&T SIM will absolutely not work.
     
  10. Satnam1989 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Location:
    Illinois
    #10
    sorry but you are completely wrong.....Verizon iPhone 4S can roam on AT&T & T-Mobile with a foreign SIM installed, It has been confirmed to do so many times, It just cannot work directly with a AT&T & T-Mobile SIM card as they are USA GSM Carriers & Verizon has blocked the iPhone from accepting any Domestic Carrier SIM card within the USA, that block does not affect use of foreign SIM and roaming on domestic carriers, after all who would want to pay those high fee's just to use their Verizon iPhone on AT&T or T-Mobile as the carrier lol.....

    What could be wrong here is that TRUPhone or the sim card you are trying to use does not support roaming (Like most prepaid services they do not allow roaming in foreign countries and you using a UK carrier SIM in USA it may just be the reason)
     
  11. Gazzer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    #11
    I am in the DFW metro area, heavily Verizon territory, would be miles to get out of this place unless anyone knows of a location with an AT&T tower. I am willing to drive to it.

    Is there anyway of determining, based on my criteria, that it in fact is not a bad sim or that the iPhone itself is having a problem reading it. If I can eliminate one of these then at least it narrows my research. Either one of these would be a problem in the UK and I would have to use Verizon's highway-robbery rates for international roaming to solve and/or visit the nearest UK Apple Store. Thanks all.
     
  12. nephron8 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    #12
    Hi.
    My suggestion is procure a uk or any foreign sim card and use that in your iPhone. It should latch on to local gsm network. And honestly speaking from my own experience about sprint unlock,

    Once you get confirmation from Verizon that you are unlocked. You should sync the phone and at last step you may get unlocked message. Or you can restore the iPhone. And at end of procedure you will be greeted with unlock message in iTunes.

    Now I would say just procure Canadian sim card to test. And I am sure you will find the phone unlocked and no need to drive to any tower.
     
  13. Gazzer, May 23, 2012
    Last edited: May 23, 2012

    Gazzer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    #13
    Satnam,

    Thanks for that info. Tru Network currently spans the UK, USA and Australia. Matthew Miller of ZDnet blogs about mobile devices and knows his stuff his article came out after the iPhone 4S called "International travelers: Here is how to SIM unlock your Verizon Apple iPhone 4S" He goes through the process using a Tru sim. He states in other articles he uses them all the time.

    BTW, Tru gave me a US number and I bought a UK number since I will be making many mobile-to-local calls. Although Truphone's marketing is vague it states absolutely nothing about their service not working in the US. Actually, it alludes that it does with their marketing claims.

    So, is there anyway to eliminate that it is a bad sim or that the iPhone may have an issue?

    Thanks, Gazzer
     
  14. reclusive46 macrumors 65816

    reclusive46

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    Try selecting Carrier in the settings option, doesn't always appear (So go into Airplane mode and then out sometimes makes it appear). Then try selecting AT&T manually.
     
  15. bidwalj macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    #15
    Seems like your sim is not read by the phone.

    I have two verizon iPhones and both are unlocked. I also have two Canadian sims and when I insert them, the phone goes into searching and restarts the first time it needs to activate on a different sim. The sim slot always works over the CDMA network, you don't need to be in a non verizon area.

    If the sim doesn't work, it always says invalid sim. You still will not see the Verizon network.

    ----------

    I suggest trying a different sim or even a AT&T or tmobile sim. If you get an invalid error, then you know it's not the phone.
     
  16. Gazzer thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 20, 2012
    #16
    bidwalj,

    Thanks. Letting me know what is "supposed" to happen brings me closer to a solution. This sounds logical. I don't have any other micro-sims but if I take the phone to the Verizon or Apple store they can test the sim reader on the iPhone. All roads seem to lead to the iPhone since sticking in the micro-sim goes undetected. Even a bad sim would at least be detected by the device with an error message--from what I am understanding. Will keep this thread open until I solve this and report back. Appreciate all of the replies--this has been extremely helpful.
     

Share This Page