Using TV as another monitor....

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by vortiz, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. vortiz macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #1
    Hello,

    I am wondering if you can use a Tv without s-video input as another monitor. What I'm wanting to do is see if i can transmit video to my tv from my laptop like i do with an ipod? Just by using an RCA cable with one end haviing a headphone end and the other end having a red,white, and yellow end? Is this possible in anyway?
     
  2. DavieBoy macrumors 6502

    DavieBoy

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #2
    you have to buy the video adapter from apple. They look horrible though. It is okay for watching hulu i guess. It works awesome if you have a new TV with either hdmi or dvi input.
     
  3. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #3
    It depends on what model you have. If you have a Unibody, you cannot output to S-video or RCA out without jumping through some hoops, see here: http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?messageID=8375980
    If you have an iBook or a plastic macbook, you'll need to purchase the appropriate adapter.
     
  4. bhadoc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #4
    How do you use the HDMI input? I have looked for a Mini-->DVi but can't find a DVI-->HDMI.
     
  5. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #5
    You can buy DVI-->HDMI at many electronic stores. Heck, Apple sells a belkin cable in store just for that.

    You can also goto www.monoprice.com and get a great cable on the cheap. DVI-D only though for the MDP-->DVI adapter.
     
  6. bhadoc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
  7. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #7
    For who?

    With Samsung LCD TV's at least, there's an issue with grounds with the MDP-->VGA adapter. Also, many TV's limit the VGA in to 1366x768, I know my 1080p Samsung does. (Moot point seeing how the adapter doesn't work, but that's the spec)
     
  8. vortiz thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    #8
    Thanks peeps

    thanks thats wat i figured i was just wondering if there was a way to do it the same way i do with my ipod
     
  9. NewMacbookPlz macrumors 68040

    NewMacbookPlz

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    #9
    Actually, the Clamshell G3 iBook used a similar plug setup as the iPod, but that's the only example I can think of.
     
  10. bhadoc macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    #10
    I have a viewsonic monitor with only VGA and HDMI. Sadly, the display is only 16:10. I guess I'll have to stick with VGA! What keyboard/mouse setup are you guys using?
     

Share This Page