Using TV as the iMac Display

Discussion in 'iMac' started by jlau, Aug 12, 2008.

  1. jlau macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    #1
    Want to connect the 24 inch iMac and a 39 inch 16:9 LCD TV as a display. The two display is not going to be seen next to each other, it is good to use the TV as a copy of the iMac display. The problem is when the TV is select as the copy of the display, the iMac display on the top and bottom is decrease even though the resolution is the same. The iMac resolution is 1920x1200 and the TV resolution is 1920x1080. The menu bar is not display on the TV. The iMac and TV is select as two display and put the menu bar on the TV display with the two resolution and the iMac display is okay and the TV display does not see the menu. What is a good way for the problem since the iMac and TV is not put next to each other? Thanks.
     
  2. super_kev macrumors 6502

    super_kev

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Location:
    USofA
    #2
    Just to clarify, are you trying to "mirror" the TV & iMac displays, or are you wanting to use the TV as a 2nd display, with the iMac being the primary display?
     
  3. 204467 macrumors 6502a

    204467

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #3
    It sounds like you are trying to mirror the displays, which, given their different sizes and native resolutions, is not a good idea. What you should do is set one of the displays (TV or iMac) as the primary display, adjust the resolution as needed, and hopefully it will work. I'm sure someone else can walk you through it better than me.
     
  4. sk8mash macrumors 6502a

    sk8mash

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Location:
    England
    #4
    Im hoping to have a big TV and do this one day...my 24" iMac isn't big enough :p
     

Share This Page