Using USB cable to access iPod Touch?

Discussion in 'iPod touch Hacks' started by cls06j, Jan 29, 2008.

  1. cls06j macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    #1
    I'm trying to access my iPod Touch's Application folder w/o using Wi-Fi as it sucks in my building. Any hints on how to do this using Vista 64bit?
     
  2. 7even macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #2
    If the iPod is jailbroken, try TouchExplorer.
     
  3. andybno1 macrumors 68040

    andybno1

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Liverpool, UK
    #3
    do you have a link for touchexplorer? I have had a google and found a few chinese or japenese sites dunoo what it says or what I'm clicking
     
  4. 7even macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    #4
    Here you go, freshly uploaded :D Warning though, the program itself seems to be in Japanese lol. Hard to take advantage of many options because of that..

    rapidshare.com/files/87754084/touchexp.rar.html

    (copy + paste)
     
  5. jqdesigner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
  6. jqdesigner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    #6
    Come on somebody out there must know of a way to do this on a mac without wifi
     
  7. bnizzy macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #7
    Ok, I'm not exactly sure if this is what you guys are referring to...

    But is this possible to access internet thru iTouch without Wi-Fi?

    cuz I spend like 90% of my day at work, no Wi-Fi.

    Just curious.
     
  8. jqdesigner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    #8
    That is exactly what I am trying to find out. Hopefully somebody here has some answers.
     
  9. Slip macrumors 6502a

    Slip

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2007
    Location:
    Wiltshire, England
    #9
    I don't think so, at least not that I've heard of :/
     
  10. Shanesan macrumors 6502

    Shanesan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    #10
    You want to plug a cable into a mobile device? Why not just use your computer at work?

    It's sort of like having a cell phone with a dead battery and a 4-foot cable to charge through and you need to close 8 of your biggest business deals ever today - it sucks.
     
  11. jqdesigner macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 3, 2005
    #11
    It would be a way to use it as a portable disk drive as well as a mobile device just like the previous ipods.
     
  12. flapjack101 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Location:
    In a barn
    #12
    I found it!

    Hey noticed you had a few problems, need a hand still? You wantined to connect and access the files to iTouch/iPhone Correct?

    I wanted to achive the same thing so i read this forum and tryed it....No Luck!
    well i was hunting around for ages and found there is a way, It still requires WinSCP (portable if at work) and access to the command line (Although there is a GUI version now which i have not tested yet).
    Anyway google iPhone Tunnel, download and enjoy.....if your using the command line version just pop open cmd and change directory to the one where iphone_tunnel.exe is located then type "iphone_tunnel.exe 22 22" (No speachmarks). Once you've done that wait a minute or two then open up WnSCP. host name is 127.0.0.1 This Doesn't change on command line version. Username is root and password is alpine click connect or save then your in!

    Sorry for the lete threat post only just joined,
    First post ever!

    :apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple::apple:
    8GB iPod Touch QuickPwned 2.1

    History. New 1.1.4 iPod Touch > 1.1.3 > 1.1.3 Ziphone Jailbreak > 1.1.4 > 1.1.4 Ziphone Jailbreak > 2.0 > 1.1.4 Jailbreak > 2.0 WinPwn > 2.0.1 WinPwn (with Cracked Mobile installation) > Now 2.1 Quick Pwned
     
  13. ahage16 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    #13
    I am pretty sure this will work:

    http://www.ghisler.com/

    using this plug-in:

    http://code.google.com/p/t-pot/

    First install Total Commander. Then navigate to the t-pot archive on the left pane and double click it. A message should come up asking you to install it. After that is installed, on the right pane click the dropdown box where it says C: and select the last one. You should see something that says t-pot with a little ipod next to it. Double click it and you should have access to your ipod. To move files, you have to drag them from one pane to another, you can not drag them directly from a folder.

    Hope that helped!
     
  14. brian9271 macrumors 6502

    brian9271

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Location:
    Next door
    #14
    If you can't read it, use Google translator
     
  15. FunkyMonkey macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Location:
    Right behind you
  16. ballagfx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    #16

    thanks for this!
    but im just wondering when i transfer my apps on my computer into my ipod, is there something i have to change the name to or what, cause when i just drag them over, they wont go onto my ipod?
     
  17. ballagfx macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
  18. brandon2009 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #18
    My i-pod nano won't turn on. I have tried to charge it using my USB connection to my PC and it doesn't even open up i-tunes and register that it is connected.Thanks all
     

Share This Page