Using Verizon with your Iphone?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Casey1, Jun 16, 2009.

  1. Casey1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #1
    I've read some people unlock their phones to use with difft services.
    Does anyone have an iphone they use with verizon? does the phone work the same syncing with your mac/apps etc?

    Is this recommended or is it better to just go with Att?
    I've heard a lot of negs on ATT service (I'll be switching over from Sprint.)
    thanks
     
  2. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2

    Not possible.
     
  3. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #3
    I don't think Verizon are a compatible carrier. They're CDMA rather than GSM, if I recall. In short, it can't and won't work.
     
  4. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #4
    You are correct. It is impossible to use an iPhone on Verizon, or Sprint for that matter.
     
  5. Casey1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #5
    thanks for the info...I've read that some people unlock the phone to use with other carriers. I could of sworn I read somewhere that Verizon was one of the carriers...I use sprint now and know that was impossible. Guess I will have to go over to AT&t,.:confused:
     
  6. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #6
    The only other carrier in the US you can use the iPhone on if you unlock it is T-Mobile.
     
  7. STEVESKI07 macrumors 68000

    STEVESKI07

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #7
    The only one I've ever heard of was Tmobile. It has to be a GSM carrier.
     
  8. The Californian macrumors 68040

    The Californian

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Location:
    Surfers Paradise
    #8
    Sprint and Verizon use the same technology, which happens to not be the same technology that the iPhone uses. There is a way to use an iPhone on Verizon but it's not really worth it.
     
  9. Casey1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #9
    Has anyone here used tmobile instead of ATT?
    Positive negative? Just exploring all options before I make the switch...
     
  10. edesignuk Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #10
    That would rather depend on how each perform where you will want to be using your phone....only you can answer that.
     
  11. Casey1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2008
    #11
    I've just read that a lot of people have poor cell service with their att. I travel a bit not really sure if either carrier would be better or not...I'm really looking forward to using the iphone with all my mac apps mobile me etc.
    :)
     
  12. themoonisdown09 macrumors 601

    themoonisdown09

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Location:
    Georgia, USA
    #12
    You might want to take a look at this thread on here: AT&T myths?

    Ask about AT&T service in your area. For the most part, people are talking about AT&T's service being pretty good.
     
  13. joeshell383 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    #13
    Not true. Some regional carriers like Centennial Wireless are GSM.

    Just go with AT&T. For starters, T-Mobile's 3G coverage is not nearly as extensive as AT&T's.
     
  14. Consultant macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #14
  15. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #15
    Not only that, but T-Mobile uses a different 3G frequency that the iPhone doesn't use, so on T-Mobile you're limited to EDGE speeds, even with an iPhone 3G or 3G S.
     
  16. Ntombi macrumors 68030

    Ntombi

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    Bostonian exiled in SoCal
    #16
    Here is a huge (and I mean huge) thread with comments by iPhone users who use it with T-Mobile service. If you're okay being reduced to Edge speeds, it's an option.

    I used to be really down on AT&T's service, but since they've blanketed my home areas and the cities to which I most travel with 3G towers, I've been very satisfied. Like all wireless carriers, location is everything.
     
  17. gwfattwkr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #17
    if there was a way to do this it would have been done.
    but really GSM and CDMA arent compatible networks
     
  18. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #18
    Please enlighten us, because it is not possible. GSM is not compatible with CDMA, never has been, and never will be no matter how much you try to hack it.
     
  19. darngooddesign macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    #19
    I suppose you could duct-tape a Verizon phone to your iPhone.
     
  20. yg17 macrumors G5

    yg17

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Location:
    St. Louis, MO
    #20
    Or replace the guts of the iPhone with CDMA equipment and reverse-engineer and rewrite the iPhone firmware and OS to work with a CDMA network :rolleyes:
     
  21. gwfattwkr macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    #21
    yea thats just the easy part then you have to get verizon to activate it .
     
  22. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.

Share This Page